Skip to content
Comparing loans? See rates, fees and EMI side by side.Check loan options

Canara Bank vs Federal Bank vs Punjab National Bank: Which Is Better for a Loan?

Written by KhatuLoans Editorial Team · Edited by Hemant Kumar, Founder and Editor · Figures checked · Information only, not a loan provider

Canara Bank advertises the lowest starting education loan rate here, 6.85%, compared with 10.10% at Federal Bank and 7.85% at Punjab National Bank. For a car loan, Canara Bank starts lowest (7.50%) versus 7.90% at Federal Bank and 7.60% at Punjab National Bank. The page also compares two-wheeler loans. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 12 October 2026.

Change the comparison
vsvs

Pick two or three banks or NBFCs. The page always lists them A to Z, so the same set always opens the same page.

Key takeaways: Canara Bank vs Federal Bank vs Punjab National Bank

  • Canara Bank advertises the lowest starting education loan rate here, 6.85%, compared with 10.10% at Federal Bank and 7.85% at Punjab National Bank.
  • For a car loan, Canara Bank starts lowest (7.50%) versus 7.90% at Federal Bank and 7.60% at Punjab National Bank.
  • For a two-wheeler loan, Punjab National Bank starts lowest (10%) versus 10.10% at Canara Bank and 12.60% at Federal Bank.
  • All of them publish a numeric starting rate for: education loan, car loan and two-wheeler loan. That is the part of this page you can rank like for like.
  • No numeric starting rate on the loan provider's own site: Canara Bank for personal loan and home loan. We show "Not published" instead of estimating.
  • A starting rate is the best case. Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount before you choose.

Quick verdict: who each loan provider suits

Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each loan provider is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.

Pick Canara Bank if you want

  • The lower published starting education loan rate (6.85%)
  • The lower published starting car loan rate (7.50%)

Pick Federal Bank if you want

  • The widest range of loan types with a published rate (7)

Pick Punjab National Bank if you want

  • The lower published starting two-wheeler loan rate (10%)
Education loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
Canara Bank6.85% ✓
Federal Bank10.10%
Punjab National Bank7.85%
Car loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
Canara Bank7.50% ✓
Federal Bank7.90%
Punjab National Bank7.60%
Two-wheeler loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
Canara Bank10.10%
Federal Bank12.60%
Punjab National Bank10% ✓

Starting rates are the best case a loan provider advertises. Your offered rate depends on your profile.

Canara Bank vs Federal Bank vs Punjab National Bank at a glance

DetailCanara BankFederal BankPunjab National Bank
Loan provider typePublic sector bankPrivate bankPublic sector bank
Legal nameCanara BankThe Federal Bank LimitedPunjab National Bank
Loan types with a published rateEducation loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loanPersonal loan, Home loan, Loan against property, Business loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loanPersonal loan, Home loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan
Personal loan: published rateCanara Budget range 9.95% to 14.95% (contracted loans, w.e.f. 12.12.2025)11.75% to 18.99% p.a.11.25% p.a. (Pre-Approved Personal Loan and PNB Swaagat), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates notice
Personal loan: maximum tenureUp to 84 months (term loan)60 monthsSalaried 72 EMIs (defence 60); self-employed 60 EMIs or age 65
Home loan: published rateRange 7.40% to 10.25% (contracted housing loans, w.e.f. 12.12.2025)7.35% to 9.50% (term loan); 7.45% to 9.60% (overdraft); loans up to Rs 35 lakh priced 1% higher8.15% to 8.30% p.a. (PNB Max Saver 8.30%; others start at 8.15%), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates notice
Home loan: maximum tenureUp to 30 years or until age 75, whichever earlier360 months (30 years) for residents; NRI capped at 20 years30 years incl. moratorium (construction/purchase/land)
Official websitecanarabank.bank.infederal.bank.inpnb.bank.in

Searching for Punjab National Bank vs Federal Bank vs Canara Bank instead? It is the same comparison, so both open this page.

Canara Bank vs Federal Bank vs Punjab National Bank personal loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting personal loan rates as published: Federal Bank from 11.75% and Punjab National Bank from 11.25%. Punjab National Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Canara Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (up to 84 months (term loan)). Canara Bank does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailCanara BankFederal BankPunjab National Bank
Published rateCanara Budget range 9.95% to 14.95% (contracted loans, w.e.f. 12.12.2025)11.75% to 18.99% p.a.11.25% p.a. (Pre-Approved Personal Loan and PNB Swaagat), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates notice
Rate basisReducing balancefixedNot published
Loan amountPrime: 25 months' gross salary up to Rs. 50 Lakh; Delight: up to Rs. 40 LakhNot publishedSalaried up to 24x gross monthly salary capped Rs 20 lakh
Maximum tenureUp to 84 months (term loan)60 monthsSalaried 72 EMIs (defence 60); self-employed 60 EMIs or age 65
Processing fee0.50% of loan amount, min Rs. 1,000, max Rs. 5,000; 50% waiver 01.10.2026 to 31.12.2026Not publishedNot published
Prepayment / foreclosureNo pre-payment penaltyPart or full prepayment allowed; charges not stated on pageNil
Eligibility (as published)Confirmed employees with minimum 1 year service; min net take-home 25% or Rs. 10,000/month whichever higherAge 21 to 55 years; monthly net salary Rs.25,000 and aboveSalaried: confirmed govt/PSU/reputed institution employees with 2 yrs service, salary via PNB account
Other terms published
  • Higher loan quantum
  • Reducing balance interest
  • No pre-payment penalty
  • Quick approval and disbursement
  • Quick approvals with minimal documentation
  • Repayment tenure of up to 60 months
  • Flexible EMI payment options
  • No restrictions on end use
  • No margin required
  • No prepayment charges
  • Security: suitable third-party guarantee
  • Wide range of personal needs
Official sourcecanarabank.bank.in/canara-budget
canarabank.bank.in/pages/interest-rate-range-on-loans
federal.bank.in/personal-loans
federal.bank.in/loan-rate
pnb.bank.in/personalloanforpublic.html
pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx

EMI illustration: ₹5 lakh over 5 years

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Federal Bank11.75%₹11,059₹1,63,550₹6,63,550
Punjab National Bank11.25%₹10,934₹1,56,019₹6,56,019

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Read the full guide: Personal loan

Canara Bank vs Federal Bank vs Punjab National Bank home loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting home loan rates as published: Federal Bank from 7.35% and Punjab National Bank from 8.15%. Federal Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Canara Bank does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailCanara BankFederal BankPunjab National Bank
Published rateRange 7.40% to 10.25% (contracted housing loans, w.e.f. 12.12.2025)7.35% to 9.50% (term loan); 7.45% to 9.60% (overdraft); loans up to Rs 35 lakh priced 1% higher8.15% to 8.30% p.a. (PNB Max Saver 8.30%; others start at 8.15%), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates notice
Rate basisReducing balance (RLLR 8.25% stated on rate page)floating, linked to RBI Repo RateNot published
Loan amountNo upper limit subject to income (salaried up to 72x gross monthly salary)Rs. 1500 lakhs (page title says up to Rs 15 lakhs; inconsistent)Need based; land/plot purchase and repairs capped at Rs 100 lakh
Maximum tenureUp to 30 years or until age 75, whichever earlier360 months (30 years) for residents; NRI capped at 20 years30 years incl. moratorium (construction/purchase/land)
Processing fee0.50% of loan, min Rs. 1,500, max Rs. 10,000 + GST; 100% waiver 01.10.2026 to 31.12.2026Not publishedNot published
Prepayment / foreclosureNone; can prepay or foreclose without penaltyNo pre-closure charges; part or full prepayment allowedNot published
Eligibility (as published)Salaried: 2 yrs continuous service; self-employed: 3 yrs ITR; entry age under 60Self-employed residents up to 65 years (80 with co-obligant); NRI age not above 55 at end of tenureIndividuals with assured source of regular income (salaried, professionals, self-employed, businessmen, farmers)
Other terms published
  • No upper loan limit (subject to income)
  • No prepayment penalty
  • Takeover from other loan providers
  • Repairs/renovation up to Rs. 15 lakh
  • Funding of up to 85% of project cost
  • Repayment holiday of up to 36 months
  • Can be availed in overdraft format
  • No pre-closure charges
  • Finances construction, purchase, land/plot, additions, renovation
  • Margin 20%/10% up to Rs 30 lakh, 20% Rs 30-75 lakh, 25% above Rs 75 lakh
  • Repayment holiday up to 18 months for construction
  • Max Saver overdraft variant (min Rs 10 lakh)
Official sourcecanarabank.bank.in/pages/housing-loan
canarabank.bank.in/pages/interest-rate-range-on-loans
federal.bank.in/housing-loan
federal.bank.in/loan-rate
pnb.bank.in/housingloanforpublic.html
pnb.bank.in/max-saver-housing-loan.html
pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx

EMI illustration: ₹50 lakh over 20 years

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Federal Bank7.35%₹39,822₹45,57,354₹95,57,354
Punjab National Bank8.15%₹42,290₹51,49,594₹1,01,49,594

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Read the full guide: Home loan

Canara Bank vs Federal Bank vs Punjab National Bank loan against property: rate, fees and tenure

Only Federal Bank publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Canara Bank and Punjab National Bank do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site.

DetailCanara BankFederal BankPunjab National Bank
Published rateCanara Mortgage range 9.30% to 11.80% (contracted loans, w.e.f. 12.12.2025)Property Power Loan 8.30% to 10.00% (term), 8.50% to 10.50% (overdraft)Not published
Rate basisReducing balancefloating, linked to RBI Repo Rate (fixed also available)Rate not stated on page (links to separate MCLR-linked rate page)
Loan amount50% of property value or Rs. 7.50 crore, whichever is lessUp to Rs. 20 CroreRs 2.00 lakh to Rs 500.00 lakh
Maximum tenure180 months (15 years)15 years (120 months)Term loan 180 months or up to age 70; overdraft 15 years or up to age 70
Processing fee0.50% of loan amount, min Rs. 5,000Not publishedNot published
Prepayment / foreclosureNo prepayment penaltyForeclosure and part-payment processes described; charges not statedNil
Eligibility (as published)Age 18+; salaried confirmed 1+ year; non-salaried 3+ years in business; not for companies/firms/trusts/HUFsResident/NRI/PIO; minimum age 24; salaried or self-employed; 720 or above credit score for better approval chancesSalaried min net monthly salary Rs 25,000; non-salaried min net annual income Rs 3,00,000
Other terms published
  • Residential or commercial property can be mortgaged
  • Margin of 50% of security value
  • Minimal documentation
  • Non-business purposes only
  • Quick loan processing
  • Repayment period of up to 15 years
  • Lower interest rates and EMIs
  • Available as overdraft or term loan
  • Term loan or overdraft
  • For personal purposes, excluding speculative/real estate business
  • Secured by mortgage of non-encumbered property with 25+ years residual life
  • Capped at 65% of realizable value or 36x monthly income
Official sourcecanarabank.bank.in/canara-mortgage
canarabank.bank.in/pages/interest-rate-range-on-loans
federal.bank.in/loan-against-property
federal.bank.in/loan-rate
pnb.bank.in/loanagainstmortgage.html

Read the full guide: Loan against property

Canara Bank vs Federal Bank vs Punjab National Bank business loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only Federal Bank publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Canara Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (term loans up to 10 years incl. moratorium; working capital 1 year). Canara Bank and Punjab National Bank do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site.

DetailCanara BankFederal BankPunjab National Bank
Published rateRLLR to RLLR + 1.00% p.a., subject to risk rating and collateral value (Canara MSME Star)Other Business Loans 10.85% to 16.60% (MSME, floating repo-linked); 11.90% to 17.75% (non-MSME, MCLR-linked)Competitive, linked to RLLR (Repo Rate); figure not stated
Rate basisRLLR-linkedrepo-linked (MSME) / MCLR (non-MSME) / fixedRLLR (Repo linked)
Loan amountMinimum Above Rs. 10 lakhsUp to Rs 20 crore (rate table scope)Up to Rs 10 lakh; up to Rs 25 lakh if assessed on current account credit summation
Maximum tenureTerm loans up to 10 years incl. moratorium; working capital 1 year120 monthsTerm loan up to 7 years incl. moratorium up to 6 months
Processing feeNot publishedNot publishedNil up to Rs 0.50 lakh; 0.30% of loan amount + 18% GST above Rs 0.50 lakh
Eligibility (as published)MSMEs in manufacturing or service sectorIndividuals, proprietorships, partnerships, LLPs, companies in manufacturing, services or tradingValid Udyam Registration; individuals/sole proprietors in manufacturing, trading, services; no existing fund-based CC/OD
Other terms published
  • Term loan and secured overdraft working capital
  • Margin 20% for WC and term loans
  • Collateral of at least 100%
  • Quick loan processing & approval
  • Simple assessment norms
  • Longer repayment period up to 120 months
  • Flexible repayment options
  • No collateral required
  • CGTMSE guarantee cover
  • Overdraft or term loan
  • Digital (Digi MSME Loan)
Official sourcecanarabank.bank.in/canara-msme-starfederal.bank.in/business-loans
federal.bank.in/loan-rate
pnb.bank.in/Digi-MSME-Loan.html

Read the full guide: Business loan

Canara Bank vs Federal Bank vs Punjab National Bank gold loan: rate, fees and tenure

None of these loan providers publishes a plain starting rate for a gold loan; some tie the rate to a benchmark and add a spread, which is shown in the table as published. Canara Bank, Federal Bank and Punjab National Bank do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site.

DetailCanara BankFederal BankPunjab National Bank
Published rateRLLR + 0.95% (effective 12.12.2025)Not publishedRLLR + 0.85% (up to Rs 10 lakh); RLLR + 0.90% (above Rs 10 lakh)
Rate basisRLLRNot publishedRLLR-linked
Loan amountRs. 5,000 to Rs. 50 lakh per borrowerRs 3,000 to Rs 150 LacsRs 25,000 to Rs 25,00,000 per borrower
Maximum tenure12 months, bullet repaymentNot published12 months bullet; 36 months EMI
Processing fee0.30% of loan amount, min Rs. 250, max Rs. 3,000, excl. GST (stated until 30.09.2026)Not published0.30% of loan amount + GST or Rs 500 + GST, whichever is higher
Prepayment / foreclosureNone; can close anytime within tenureForeclosure and prepayment allowed; charges not statedNot published
Eligibility (as published)Resident individuals and NRIsIndividuals above 18 years with gold to pledgeIndividual resident of India; existing or new-to-bank customers
Other terms published
  • No prepayment penalty
  • Multiple transactions within sanctioned limit
  • Quick processing and disbursement
  • Gold coins accepted up to 50 grams per customer
  • Instant sanction and hassle free processing
  • Minimal paper work and quick disbursement
  • Convenient repayment options (Lumpsum, EMI) and flexible tenure
  • Disbursed digitally to operative account
  • Secured by pledge of gold jewellery/ornaments
  • Nil documentation charge
  • Bullet or EMI repayment
Official sourcecanarabank.bank.in/swarna-loanfederal.bank.in/gold-loanspnb.bank.in/DigitalGoldLoan.html

Read the full guide: Gold loan

Canara Bank vs Federal Bank vs Punjab National Bank education loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting education loan rates as published: Canara Bank from 6.85%, Federal Bank from 10.10% and Punjab National Bank from 7.85%. Canara Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered.

DetailCanara BankFederal BankPunjab National Bank
Published rate6.85% p.a. (starts from 6.85%, T&C apply) - Vidya Turant10.10% to 13.50%7.85% to 9.00% p.a. (Digi Education, PM Vidyalaxmi, Pratibha 7.85%
Rate basisReducing balancefloating, linked to RBI Repo RateNot published
Loan amountCategory A Rs. 50 lakh; B Rs. 40 lakh; C Rs. 30 lakhSpecial Vidya Loan: Rs 10 lakhs (India), Rs 20 lakhs (abroad); Fed Scholars: Rs 20 lakhsNeed based (subject to margin guidelines)
Maximum tenureEMIs up to 15 years excl. moratorium (course + 1 year)Moratorium (course period + 1 year) plus 15 yearsUp to 15 years (Saraswati)
Processing feeNIL (PM-Vidyalaxmi portal fee Rs. 200 + GST)Fed Scholars: no processing feeNot published
Prepayment / foreclosureNo prepayment penalty at any stageNot publishedNil (Saraswati)
Eligibility (as published)Indian national with admission in eligible institution; co-borrower generally requiredIndian national with admission to approved professional/technical course; vocational courses not eligibleResident Indian with admission to recognized Indian higher education course after 10+2 via entrance/merit
Other terms published
  • No collateral or guarantor
  • No margin
  • CSIS interest subsidy for loans up to Rs. 10 lakh
  • Not available for studying abroad
  • Covers tuition, hostel, exam, library, lab, books, travel abroad
  • Fed Scholars: up to Rs 20 lakhs without collateral
  • No security up to Rs 4 lakhs; guarantee/collateral above
  • Fed Scholars: subsidy for eligible students
  • Margin nil up to Rs 4 lakh; 5% above
  • No tangible security up to Rs 7.50 lakh; parent/guardian joint borrower
  • Moratorium: course period + 1 year
  • Covers fees, hostel, books, equipment, computer
Official sourcecanarabank.bank.in/vidya-turantfederal.bank.in/education-and-career-loans
federal.bank.in/loan-rate
pnb.bank.in/pnbsaraswatiloan.html
pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx

Read the full guide: Education loan

Canara Bank vs Federal Bank vs Punjab National Bank education loan: full comparison with EMI, fees and FAQs

Canara Bank vs Federal Bank vs Punjab National Bank vehicle loans

For a car loan, Canara Bank starts lowest (7.50%) versus 7.90% at Federal Bank and 7.60% at Punjab National Bank. For a two-wheeler loan, Punjab National Bank starts lowest (10%) versus 10.10% at Canara Bank and 12.60% at Federal Bank.

DetailCanara BankFederal BankPunjab National Bank
Car loan: published rate7.50% - 10.70%7.90% - 9.00%From 7.60%
Car loan: maximum tenure84 months84 months84 months
Car loan: processing fee0.25% (min ₹1,000, max ₹5,000) + GST; 100% waiver 01.10.2026-31.12.2026 (Retail Loan Festival)1% of loan (min ₹1,000, max ₹50,000)0.25% of loan (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 1,500); nil documentation
Two-wheeler loan: published rate10.10% - 15.00%12.60% - 16.00%From 10.00%
Two-wheeler loan: maximum tenureNot published60 months60 EMIs (scooters/motorcycles)
Two-wheeler loan: processing feeNot published2.50% (min ₹2,500)0.50% of loan (min Rs 500, max Rs 1,000)

Vehicle loans guide

Which is better: Canara Bank, Federal Bank or Punjab National Bank?

No loan provider is best for everyone. This is how the published figures split, product by product.

  • Education loan, lower starting rate: Canara Bank (6.85%) versus 10.10% at Federal Bank and 7.85% at Punjab National Bank.
  • Car loan, lower starting rate: Canara Bank (7.50%) versus 7.90% at Federal Bank and 7.60% at Punjab National Bank.
  • Two-wheeler loan, lower starting rate: Punjab National Bank (10%) versus 10.10% at Canara Bank and 12.60% at Federal Bank.
  • Personal loan, longer maximum tenure: Canara Bank (up to 84 months (term loan)). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
  • Business loan, longer maximum tenure: Canara Bank (term loans up to 10 years incl. moratorium; working capital 1 year). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.

Pick on total cost, not the headline rate: ask each loan provider for the Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount. A low rate with a high processing fee can cost more than a slightly higher rate with no fee. If you already bank with one of them, a salary or relationship account can change the rate you are offered, so ask.

Bank type and how each loan provider sets its rate

Canara Bank and Punjab National Bank are public sector banks and Federal Bank is a private bank.

How the loan providers' own pages say their rates are set:

  • Canara Bank personal loan: Reducing balance.
  • Canara Bank home loan: Reducing balance (RLLR 8.25% stated on rate page).
  • Federal Bank personal loan: fixed.
  • Federal Bank home loan: floating, linked to RBI Repo Rate.

Public sector banks, private banks and non-banking finance companies (NBFCs) price differently. Banks usually link floating rates to the RBI repo rate or their own benchmark and add a spread based on your credit score; NBFCs more often quote a wider range with a higher ceiling and charge higher processing fees. Some publish a range, some only a starting rate and some only a ceiling, which is why this page compares like with like and marks every gap as not published instead of guessing.

About Canara Bank, Federal Bank and Punjab National Bank

Canara Bank

Public sector bank

We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on Canara Bank's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.

Lowest published starting rate on this page: 6.85% (Education loan)

Federal Bank

Private bank · The Federal Bank Limited

We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on Federal Bank's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.

Lowest published starting rate on this page: 7.35% (Home loan)

Punjab National Bank

Public sector bank

We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on Punjab National Bank's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.

Lowest published starting rate on this page: 7.85% (Education loan)

Explore each loan provider: loans, calculators and more comparisons

Guides: Personal loans · Home loans · Car loan · Car loan EMI calculator · EMI calculators

What to check before you choose a loan provider

  1. Ask for the Key Fact Statement (KFS). RBI requires loan providers to give you one before you sign, showing the interest rate, all fees, the APR and the total amount you will repay.
  2. Compare APR, not the headline rate. Processing fee, documentation charges and insurance change the real cost.
  3. Check the rate basis. A floating rate moves with the loan provider's benchmark; a fixed rate does not. Ask when the rate resets.
  4. Ask about prepayment and foreclosure. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
  5. Read the eligibility and documents. Income, credit score, employment type and collateral decide the rate band you land in.

Terms used on this page

Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.

Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.

APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.

Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.

Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.

Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.

Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.

Sources, method and last check

Every figure above comes from the loan provider's own website. We checked them on 12 October 2026 (vehicle loan figures on 4 October 2026) and list the pages used.

Verification log: what we checked for each loan provider
Loan providerOfficial pages openedLoan types with a published rateLoan types where rate is not publishedLast checked
Canara Bank93512 October 2026
Federal Bank117112 October 2026
Punjab National Bank125312 October 2026

A "not published" count means we opened the loan provider's page for that product and the rate was not shown there, or the loan provider has no such page on its site. If you spot an error, tell us and we will correct it.

Method: we list only figures we could read on the loan provider's official pages. A blank means the loan provider does not publish that figure on the page we checked, and we never estimate one. Rankings use the published starting rate and published maximum tenure only. Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.

More loan provider comparisons

Canara Bank compared with other loan providers (13)
Federal Bank compared with other loan providers (16)
Punjab National Bank compared with other loan providers (16)
Head-to-head pages for these three loan providers (3)
Swap one loan provider (6)

Compare any two or three loan providers · Personal loans · Home loans · Vehicle loans

Frequently asked questions

Which is better: Canara Bank, Federal Bank or Punjab National Bank?

Canara Bank advertises the lowest starting education loan rate here, 6.85%, compared with 10.10% at Federal Bank and 7.85% at Punjab National Bank. For a car loan, Canara Bank starts lowest (7.50%) versus 7.90% at Federal Bank and 7.60% at Punjab National Bank. The page also compares two-wheeler loans. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 12 October 2026. The better choice depends on your profile, the loan type, the amount and the fees in your offer letter.

Punjab National Bank, Federal Bank or Canara Bank: which should I pick for a loan?

Order does not change the comparison, so Canara Bank vs Federal Bank vs Punjab National Bank and Punjab National Bank vs Federal Bank vs Canara Bank are the same page. Start with the loan type you need: the sections above show each loan provider's published rate, fees, tenure and prepayment terms for it, and the lower starting rate is not always the lower total cost.

Which has the lower personal loan interest rate: Canara Bank, Federal Bank or Punjab National Bank?

Punjab National Bank has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Federal Bank 11.75% and Punjab National Bank 11.25% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the loan provider's approval.

What is the personal loan processing fee at Canara Bank, Federal Bank and Punjab National Bank?

Canara Bank: 0.50% of loan amount, min Rs. 1,000, max Rs. 5,000; 50% waiver 01.10.2026 to 31.12.2026. Federal Bank: not published. Punjab National Bank: not published. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.

Which has the lower home loan interest rate: Canara Bank, Federal Bank or Punjab National Bank?

Federal Bank has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Federal Bank 7.35% and Punjab National Bank 8.15% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the loan provider's approval.

What is the home loan processing fee at Canara Bank, Federal Bank and Punjab National Bank?

Canara Bank: 0.50% of loan, min Rs. 1,500, max Rs. 10,000 + GST; 100% waiver 01.10.2026 to 31.12.2026. Federal Bank: not published. Punjab National Bank: not published. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.

What is the maximum home loan tenure at Canara Bank, Federal Bank and Punjab National Bank?

Canara Bank: up to 30 years or until age 75, whichever earlier. Federal Bank: 360 months (30 years) for residents; nri capped at 20 years. Punjab National Bank: 30 years incl. moratorium (construction/purchase/land).

How much personal loan can I get from Canara Bank, Federal Bank and Punjab National Bank?

Canara Bank: Prime: 25 months' gross salary up to Rs. 50 Lakh; Delight: up to Rs. 40 Lakh. Federal Bank: not published. Punjab National Bank: Salaried up to 24x gross monthly salary capped Rs 20 lakh. The loan provider decides the final amount from your income, credit score and existing obligations.

What is the EMI on a ₹5 lakh personal loan at Canara Bank, Federal Bank and Punjab National Bank?

Over 5 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate: Federal Bank about ₹11,059 a month at 11.75%; Punjab National Bank about ₹10,934 a month at 11.25%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.

What is the EMI on a ₹50 lakh home loan at Canara Bank, Federal Bank and Punjab National Bank?

Over 20 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate: Federal Bank about ₹39,822 a month at 7.35%; Punjab National Bank about ₹42,290 a month at 8.15%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.

Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Canara Bank, Federal Bank and Punjab National Bank?

Canara Bank: None; can prepay or foreclose without penalty. Federal Bank: No pre-closure charges; part or full prepayment allowed. Punjab National Bank: not published. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.

Which loans do Canara Bank, Federal Bank and Punjab National Bank publish rates for?

Canara Bank: education loan. Federal Bank: personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, education loan. Punjab National Bank: personal loan, home loan, education loan. Based on each loan provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026.

Which is better for a car loan: Canara Bank, Federal Bank or Punjab National Bank?

For a car loan, Canara Bank starts lowest (7.50%) versus 7.90% at Federal Bank and 7.60% at Punjab National Bank. See the full vehicle loan comparison for tenure, fees and EMI tables.

Are Canara Bank, Federal Bank and Punjab National Bank regulated by the RBI?

Canara Bank, Federal Bank and Punjab National Bank are banks regulated by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI). Check a loan provider's registration on the RBI website before you apply, and apply only through its official channels.

How do I compare Canara Bank, Federal Bank and Punjab National Bank on real cost, not just the rate?

Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement, then compare three numbers: the APR, the total amount you repay and the fees charged upfront, such as processing fee, documentation charge and insurance. The loan with the lower APR and the lower total repayment is the cheaper one, even when its headline rate looks higher.

Does my credit score change the rate at Canara Bank, Federal Bank and Punjab National Bank?

Yes. Loan providers keep their lowest published rate for borrowers with a strong credit score, usually 750 and above, and steady income. A lower score or a short work history usually means a higher rate, a higher processing fee or a smaller loan amount.

Are the rates on this page the rate I will get?

No. They are the rates the loan providers publish, usually a range or a starting rate. Your approved rate depends on your credit score, income, loan amount, tenure and, for secured loans, the asset. Always read the Key Fact Statement before you sign.

Does KhatuLoans lend money or charge for this comparison?

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider. The loan provider decides approval, rate and terms. Our comparisons are free to read, and we are not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. See how we make money on our advertiser disclosure page.

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.