Skip to content
Comparing loans? See rates, fees and EMI side by side.Check loan options

Federal Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs Punjab National Bank: Which Is Better for a Loan?

Written by KhatuLoans Editorial Team · Edited by Hemant Kumar, Founder and Editor · Figures checked · Information only, not a loan provider

For a personal loan, Punjab National Bank starts lowest (11.25%) versus 11.75% at Federal Bank and 17.90% at Hero FinCorp. On an education loan, Punjab National Bank has the lowest published starting rate at 7.85%, against 10.10% at Federal Bank and 17.90% at Hero FinCorp. The page also compares car loans and two-wheeler loans. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 12 October 2026.

Change the comparison
vsvs

Pick two or three banks or NBFCs. The page always lists them A to Z, so the same set always opens the same page.

Key takeaways: Federal Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs Punjab National Bank

  • For a personal loan, Punjab National Bank starts lowest (11.25%) versus 11.75% at Federal Bank and 17.90% at Hero FinCorp.
  • On an education loan, Punjab National Bank has the lowest published starting rate at 7.85%, against 10.10% at Federal Bank and 17.90% at Hero FinCorp.
  • On a car loan, Punjab National Bank has the lowest published starting rate at 7.60%, against 7.90% at Federal Bank and 9% at Hero FinCorp.
  • All of them publish a numeric starting rate for: personal loan, education loan, car loan and two-wheeler loan. That is the part of this page you can rank like for like.
  • No numeric starting rate on the loan provider's own site: Hero FinCorp for home loan. We show "Not published" instead of estimating.
  • A starting rate is the best case. Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount before you choose.

Quick verdict: who each loan provider suits

Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each loan provider is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.

Pick Federal Bank if you want

  • The widest range of loan types with a published rate (7)

Where Hero FinCorp stands

No clear edge on the published figures we could compare. Check the product sections below and the Key Fact Statement.

Pick Punjab National Bank if you want

  • The lower published starting personal loan rate (11.25%)
  • The lower published starting education loan rate (7.85%)
  • The lower published starting car loan rate (7.60%)
  • The lower published starting two-wheeler loan rate (10%)
  • The longer personal loan tenure (salaried 72 emis (defence 60); self-employed 60 emis or age 65)
Personal loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
Federal Bank11.75%
Hero FinCorp17.90%
Punjab National Bank11.25% ✓
Education loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
Federal Bank10.10%
Hero FinCorp17.90%
Punjab National Bank7.85% ✓
Car loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
Federal Bank7.90%
Hero FinCorp9%
Punjab National Bank7.60% ✓

Starting rates are the best case a loan provider advertises. Your offered rate depends on your profile.

Federal Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs Punjab National Bank at a glance

DetailFederal BankHero FinCorpPunjab National Bank
Loan provider typePrivate bankNBFCPublic sector bank
Legal nameThe Federal Bank LimitedHero FinCorp LimitedPunjab National Bank
Loan types with a published ratePersonal loan, Home loan, Loan against property, Business loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loanPersonal loan, Loan against property, Business loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loanPersonal loan, Home loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan
Personal loan: published rate11.75% to 18.99% p.a.Starting from 17.9% p.a.11.25% p.a. (Pre-Approved Personal Loan and PNB Swaagat), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates notice
Personal loan: maximum tenure60 monthsNot publishedSalaried 72 EMIs (defence 60); self-employed 60 EMIs or age 65
Home loan: published rate7.35% to 9.50% (term loan); 7.45% to 9.60% (overdraft); loans up to Rs 35 lakh priced 1% higherNot published8.15% to 8.30% p.a. (PNB Max Saver 8.30%; others start at 8.15%), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates notice
Home loan: maximum tenure360 months (30 years) for residents; NRI capped at 20 yearsNot published30 years incl. moratorium (construction/purchase/land)
Official websitefederal.bank.inherofincorp.compnb.bank.in

Searching for Punjab National Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs Federal Bank instead? It is the same comparison, so both open this page.

Federal Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs Punjab National Bank personal loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting personal loan rates as published: Federal Bank from 11.75%, Hero FinCorp from 17.90% and Punjab National Bank from 11.25%. Punjab National Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Punjab National Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (salaried 72 emis (defence 60); self-employed 60 emis or age 65).

DetailFederal BankHero FinCorpPunjab National Bank
Published rate11.75% to 18.99% p.a.Starting from 17.9% p.a.11.25% p.a. (Pre-Approved Personal Loan and PNB Swaagat), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates notice
Rate basisfixedNot publishedNot published
Loan amountNot publishedNot publishedSalaried up to 24x gross monthly salary capped Rs 20 lakh
Maximum tenure60 monthsNot publishedSalaried 72 EMIs (defence 60); self-employed 60 EMIs or age 65
Processing feeNot publishedMinimum 2.5% + GST, deducted at disbursal (non-refundable)Not published
Prepayment / foreclosurePart or full prepayment allowed; charges not stated on pagePrepayment charges: not applicable. Foreclosure: 5% + GST on outstanding principalNil
Eligibility (as published)Age 21 to 55 years; monthly net salary Rs.25,000 and aboveNot publishedSalaried: confirmed govt/PSU/reputed institution employees with 2 yrs service, salary via PNB account
Other terms published
  • Quick approvals with minimal documentation
  • Repayment tenure of up to 60 months
  • Flexible EMI payment options
  • No restrictions on end use
  • High loan eligibility up to Rs 7 Lakh
  • Attractive interest rates
  • Digital application process
  • No margin required
  • No prepayment charges
  • Security: suitable third-party guarantee
  • Wide range of personal needs
Official sourcefederal.bank.in/personal-loans
federal.bank.in/loan-rate
herofincorp.com/personal-loan-fees-and-chargespnb.bank.in/personalloanforpublic.html
pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx

EMI illustration: ₹5 lakh over 5 years

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Federal Bank11.75%₹11,059₹1,63,550₹6,63,550
Hero FinCorp17.90%₹12,670₹2,60,172₹7,60,172
Punjab National Bank11.25%₹10,934₹1,56,019₹6,56,019

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Read the full guide: Personal loan

Federal Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs Punjab National Bank personal loan: full comparison with EMI, fees and FAQs

Federal Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs Punjab National Bank home loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting home loan rates as published: Federal Bank from 7.35% and Punjab National Bank from 8.15%. Federal Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Hero FinCorp has no home loan terms we could verify on its official site.

DetailFederal BankHero FinCorpPunjab National Bank
Published rate7.35% to 9.50% (term loan); 7.45% to 9.60% (overdraft); loans up to Rs 35 lakh priced 1% higherNot published8.15% to 8.30% p.a. (PNB Max Saver 8.30%; others start at 8.15%), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates notice
Rate basisfloating, linked to RBI Repo RateNot publishedNot published
Loan amountRs. 1500 lakhs (page title says up to Rs 15 lakhs; inconsistent)Not publishedNeed based; land/plot purchase and repairs capped at Rs 100 lakh
Maximum tenure360 months (30 years) for residents; NRI capped at 20 yearsNot published30 years incl. moratorium (construction/purchase/land)
Prepayment / foreclosureNo pre-closure charges; part or full prepayment allowedNot publishedNot published
Eligibility (as published)Self-employed residents up to 65 years (80 with co-obligant); NRI age not above 55 at end of tenureNot publishedIndividuals with assured source of regular income (salaried, professionals, self-employed, businessmen, farmers)
Other terms published
  • Funding of up to 85% of project cost
  • Repayment holiday of up to 36 months
  • Can be availed in overdraft format
  • No pre-closure charges
Not published
  • Finances construction, purchase, land/plot, additions, renovation
  • Margin 20%/10% up to Rs 30 lakh, 20% Rs 30-75 lakh, 25% above Rs 75 lakh
  • Repayment holiday up to 18 months for construction
  • Max Saver overdraft variant (min Rs 10 lakh)
Official sourcefederal.bank.in/housing-loan
federal.bank.in/loan-rate
Not publishedpnb.bank.in/housingloanforpublic.html
pnb.bank.in/max-saver-housing-loan.html
pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx

EMI illustration: ₹50 lakh over 20 years

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Federal Bank7.35%₹39,822₹45,57,354₹95,57,354
Punjab National Bank8.15%₹42,290₹51,49,594₹1,01,49,594

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Read the full guide: Home loan

Federal Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs Punjab National Bank loan against property: rate, fees and tenure

Starting loan against property rates as published: Federal Bank from 8.30% and Hero FinCorp from 11%. Federal Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Federal Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (15 years (120 months)). Punjab National Bank does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailFederal BankHero FinCorpPunjab National Bank
Published rateProperty Power Loan 8.30% to 10.00% (term), 8.50% to 10.50% (overdraft)11% to 17%Not published
Rate basisfloating, linked to RBI Repo Rate (fixed also available)Reducing balanceRate not stated on page (links to separate MCLR-linked rate page)
Loan amountUp to Rs. 20 CroreUp to ₹7.5 CrRs 2.00 lakh to Rs 500.00 lakh
Maximum tenure15 years (120 months)Up to 10 yearsTerm loan 180 months or up to age 70; overdraft 15 years or up to age 70
Processing feeNot published1% + GSTNot published
Prepayment / foreclosureForeclosure and part-payment processes described; charges not statedPercentage-based part-prepayment and pre-closure charges mentioned; rates not statedNil
Eligibility (as published)Resident/NRI/PIO; minimum age 24; salaried or self-employed; 720 or above credit score for better approval chancesAge 25 to 75 years; stable income; CIBIL 750+ preferredSalaried min net monthly salary Rs 25,000; non-salaried min net annual income Rs 3,00,000
Other terms published
  • Quick loan processing
  • Repayment period of up to 15 years
  • Lower interest rates and EMIs
  • Available as overdraft or term loan
  • Loan up to ₹7.5 Cr
  • Quick sanctioning
  • Up to 75% of property's market value
  • Flexible tenure
  • Term loan or overdraft
  • For personal purposes, excluding speculative/real estate business
  • Secured by mortgage of non-encumbered property with 25+ years residual life
  • Capped at 65% of realizable value or 36x monthly income
Official sourcefederal.bank.in/loan-against-property
federal.bank.in/loan-rate
herofincorp.com/loan-against-property-interest-ratespnb.bank.in/loanagainstmortgage.html

EMI illustration: ₹25 lakh over 10 years

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Federal Bank8.30%₹30,730₹11,87,558₹36,87,558
Hero FinCorp11%₹34,438₹16,32,500₹41,32,500

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Read the full guide: Loan against property

Federal Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs Punjab National Bank business loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting business loan rates as published: Federal Bank from 10.85% and Hero FinCorp from 14%. Federal Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Federal Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (120 months). Punjab National Bank does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailFederal BankHero FinCorpPunjab National Bank
Published rateOther Business Loans 10.85% to 16.60% (MSME, floating repo-linked); 11.90% to 17.75% (non-MSME, MCLR-linked)Starting from 14% p.a.; up to maximum 30%Competitive, linked to RLLR (Repo Rate); figure not stated
Rate basisrepo-linked (MSME) / MCLR (non-MSME) / fixedFixed or floating optionsRLLR (Repo linked)
Loan amountUp to Rs 20 crore (rate table scope)Rs. 5 Lakh to Rs. 50 LakhUp to Rs 10 lakh; up to Rs 25 lakh if assessed on current account credit summation
Maximum tenure120 months4 years (minimum 1 year)Term loan up to 7 years incl. moratorium up to 6 months
Processing feeNot publishedPer Sanction Letter cum KFS; FAQ says typically up to 2.5% of loan amountNil up to Rs 0.50 lakh; 0.30% of loan amount + 18% GST above Rs 0.50 lakh
Prepayment / foreclosureNot publishedNot allowed in 12-month lock-in; after that 5% + taxes on outstanding principalNot published
Eligibility (as published)Individuals, proprietorships, partnerships, LLPs, companies in manufacturing, services or tradingNot publishedValid Udyam Registration; individuals/sole proprietors in manufacturing, trading, services; no existing fund-based CC/OD
Other terms published
  • Quick loan processing & approval
  • Simple assessment norms
  • Longer repayment period up to 120 months
  • Flexible repayment options
  • Loans up to Rs. 50 Lakh
  • Collateral-free loan
  • Instant approval
  • Fixed or floating interest rate options
  • No collateral required
  • CGTMSE guarantee cover
  • Overdraft or term loan
  • Digital (Digi MSME Loan)
Official sourcefederal.bank.in/business-loans
federal.bank.in/loan-rate
herofincorp.com/business-loan-interest-ratespnb.bank.in/Digi-MSME-Loan.html

Read the full guide: Business loan

Federal Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs Punjab National Bank gold loan: rate, fees and tenure

None of these loan providers publishes a plain starting rate for a gold loan; some tie the rate to a benchmark and add a spread, which is shown in the table as published. Federal Bank and Punjab National Bank do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site. Hero FinCorp has no gold loan terms we could verify on its official site.

DetailFederal BankHero FinCorpPunjab National Bank
Published rateNot publishedNot publishedRLLR + 0.85% (up to Rs 10 lakh); RLLR + 0.90% (above Rs 10 lakh)
Rate basisNot publishedNot publishedRLLR-linked
Loan amountRs 3,000 to Rs 150 LacsNot publishedRs 25,000 to Rs 25,00,000 per borrower
Maximum tenureNot publishedNot published12 months bullet; 36 months EMI
Processing feeNot publishedNot published0.30% of loan amount + GST or Rs 500 + GST, whichever is higher
Prepayment / foreclosureForeclosure and prepayment allowed; charges not statedNot publishedNot published
Eligibility (as published)Individuals above 18 years with gold to pledgeNot publishedIndividual resident of India; existing or new-to-bank customers
Other terms published
  • Instant sanction and hassle free processing
  • Minimal paper work and quick disbursement
  • Convenient repayment options (Lumpsum, EMI) and flexible tenure
Not published
  • Disbursed digitally to operative account
  • Secured by pledge of gold jewellery/ornaments
  • Nil documentation charge
  • Bullet or EMI repayment
Official sourcefederal.bank.in/gold-loansNot publishedpnb.bank.in/DigitalGoldLoan.html

Read the full guide: Gold loan

Federal Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs Punjab National Bank education loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting education loan rates as published: Federal Bank from 10.10%, Hero FinCorp from 17.90% and Punjab National Bank from 7.85%. Punjab National Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Punjab National Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (up to 15 years (saraswati)).

DetailFederal BankHero FinCorpPunjab National Bank
Published rate10.10% to 13.50%Starting from 17.9% p.a. (personal loan for students)7.85% to 9.00% p.a. (Digi Education, PM Vidyalaxmi, Pratibha 7.85%
Rate basisfloating, linked to RBI Repo RateNot publishedNot published
Loan amountSpecial Vidya Loan: Rs 10 lakhs (India), Rs 20 lakhs (abroad); Fed Scholars: Rs 20 lakhs₹50,000 to ₹7 lakhNeed based (subject to margin guidelines)
Maximum tenureMoratorium (course period + 1 year) plus 15 years36 monthsUp to 15 years (Saraswati)
Processing feeFed Scholars: no processing feeMinimum 2.5% + GSTNot published
Prepayment / foreclosureNot publishedPrepayment: not applicable. Foreclosure: 5% + GST on outstanding principalNil (Saraswati)
Eligibility (as published)Indian national with admission to approved professional/technical course; vocational courses not eligibleAge 21-58; salaried or self-employed; min net monthly income ₹15,000; CIBIL 725+ preferredResident Indian with admission to recognized Indian higher education course after 10+2 via entrance/merit
Other terms published
  • Covers tuition, hostel, exam, library, lab, books, travel abroad
  • Fed Scholars: up to Rs 20 lakhs without collateral
  • No security up to Rs 4 lakhs; guarantee/collateral above
  • Fed Scholars: subsidy for eligible students
  • Online approval in about 10 minutes
  • No security or collateral needed
  • Paper-free digital application
  • Tenures from 12 to 36 months
  • Margin nil up to Rs 4 lakh; 5% above
  • No tangible security up to Rs 7.50 lakh; parent/guardian joint borrower
  • Moratorium: course period + 1 year
  • Covers fees, hostel, books, equipment, computer
Official sourcefederal.bank.in/education-and-career-loans
federal.bank.in/loan-rate
herofincorp.com/personal-loans/education-loanpnb.bank.in/pnbsaraswatiloan.html
pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx

Read the full guide: Education loan

Federal Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs Punjab National Bank education loan: full comparison with EMI, fees and FAQs

Federal Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs Punjab National Bank vehicle loans

On a car loan, Punjab National Bank has the lowest published starting rate at 7.60%, against 7.90% at Federal Bank and 9% at Hero FinCorp. For a two-wheeler loan, Punjab National Bank starts lowest (10%) versus 12.60% at Federal Bank and 14% at Hero FinCorp.

DetailFederal BankHero FinCorpPunjab National Bank
Car loan: published rate7.90% - 9.00%9% - 18% p.a.From 7.60%
Car loan: maximum tenure84 months120 months84 months
Car loan: processing fee1% of loan (min ₹1,000, max ₹50,000)Up to 3% of loan amount0.25% of loan (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 1,500); nil documentation
Two-wheeler loan: published rate12.60% - 16.00%14% - 36% p.a.From 10.00%
Two-wheeler loan: maximum tenure60 months60 months60 EMIs (scooters/motorcycles)
Two-wheeler loan: processing fee2.50% (min ₹2,500)Varies by approved loan; no figure published0.50% of loan (min Rs 500, max Rs 1,000)

Full vehicle loan comparison for Federal Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs Punjab National Bank (all vehicle types, EMI tables and sources) · Vehicle loans guide

Which is better: Federal Bank, Hero FinCorp or Punjab National Bank?

No loan provider is best for everyone. This is how the published figures split, product by product.

  • Personal loan, lower starting rate: Punjab National Bank (11.25%) versus 11.75% at Federal Bank and 17.90% at Hero FinCorp.
  • Education loan, lower starting rate: Punjab National Bank (7.85%) versus 10.10% at Federal Bank and 17.90% at Hero FinCorp.
  • Car loan, lower starting rate: Punjab National Bank (7.60%) versus 7.90% at Federal Bank and 9% at Hero FinCorp.
  • Two-wheeler loan, lower starting rate: Punjab National Bank (10%) versus 12.60% at Federal Bank and 14% at Hero FinCorp.
  • Personal loan, longer maximum tenure: Punjab National Bank (salaried 72 emis (defence 60); self-employed 60 emis or age 65). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
  • Loan against property, longer maximum tenure: Federal Bank (15 years (120 months)). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
  • Business loan, longer maximum tenure: Federal Bank (120 months). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
  • Education loan, longer maximum tenure: Punjab National Bank (up to 15 years (saraswati)). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.

Pick on total cost, not the headline rate: ask each loan provider for the Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount. A low rate with a high processing fee can cost more than a slightly higher rate with no fee. If you already bank with one of them, a salary or relationship account can change the rate you are offered, so ask.

Bank type and how each loan provider sets its rate

Federal Bank is a private bank, Hero FinCorp is an NBFC and Punjab National Bank is a public sector bank.

How the loan providers' own pages say their rates are set:

  • Federal Bank personal loan: fixed.
  • Federal Bank home loan: floating, linked to RBI Repo Rate.

Public sector banks, private banks and non-banking finance companies (NBFCs) price differently. Banks usually link floating rates to the RBI repo rate or their own benchmark and add a spread based on your credit score; NBFCs more often quote a wider range with a higher ceiling and charge higher processing fees. Some publish a range, some only a starting rate and some only a ceiling, which is why this page compares like with like and marks every gap as not published instead of guessing.

About Federal Bank, Hero FinCorp and Punjab National Bank

Federal Bank

Private bank · The Federal Bank Limited

We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on Federal Bank's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.

Lowest published starting rate on this page: 7.35% (Home loan)

Hero FinCorp

NBFC · Hero FinCorp Limited

We found terms for personal loan, loan against property, business loan and education loan on Hero FinCorp's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.

Lowest published starting rate on this page: 11% (Loan against property)

Punjab National Bank

Public sector bank

We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on Punjab National Bank's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.

Lowest published starting rate on this page: 7.85% (Education loan)

Explore each loan provider: loans, calculators and more comparisons

Guides: Personal loans · Home loans · Car loan · Car loan EMI calculator · EMI calculators

What to check before you choose a loan provider

  1. Ask for the Key Fact Statement (KFS). RBI requires loan providers to give you one before you sign, showing the interest rate, all fees, the APR and the total amount you will repay.
  2. Compare APR, not the headline rate. Processing fee, documentation charges and insurance change the real cost.
  3. Check the rate basis. A floating rate moves with the loan provider's benchmark; a fixed rate does not. Ask when the rate resets.
  4. Ask about prepayment and foreclosure. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
  5. Read the eligibility and documents. Income, credit score, employment type and collateral decide the rate band you land in.

Terms used on this page

Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.

Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.

APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.

Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.

Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.

Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.

Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.

Sources, method and last check

Every figure above comes from the loan provider's own website. We checked them on 12 October 2026 (vehicle loan figures on 4 October 2026) and list the pages used.

Verification log: what we checked for each loan provider
Loan providerOfficial pages openedLoan types with a published rateLoan types where rate is not publishedLast checked
Federal Bank117112 October 2026
Hero FinCorp76212 October 2026
Punjab National Bank125312 October 2026

A "not published" count means we opened the loan provider's page for that product and the rate was not shown there, or the loan provider has no such page on its site. If you spot an error, tell us and we will correct it.

Method: we list only figures we could read on the loan provider's official pages. A blank means the loan provider does not publish that figure on the page we checked, and we never estimate one. Rankings use the published starting rate and published maximum tenure only. Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.

More loan provider comparisons

Federal Bank compared with other loan providers (16)
Hero FinCorp compared with other loan providers (14)
Punjab National Bank compared with other loan providers (16)
Head-to-head pages for these three loan providers (3)
Swap one loan provider (6)

Compare any two or three loan providers · Personal loans · Home loans · Vehicle loans

Frequently asked questions

Which is better: Federal Bank, Hero FinCorp or Punjab National Bank?

For a personal loan, Punjab National Bank starts lowest (11.25%) versus 11.75% at Federal Bank and 17.90% at Hero FinCorp. On an education loan, Punjab National Bank has the lowest published starting rate at 7.85%, against 10.10% at Federal Bank and 17.90% at Hero FinCorp. The page also compares car loans and two-wheeler loans. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 12 October 2026. The better choice depends on your profile, the loan type, the amount and the fees in your offer letter.

Punjab National Bank, Hero FinCorp or Federal Bank: which should I pick for a loan?

Order does not change the comparison, so Federal Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs Punjab National Bank and Punjab National Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs Federal Bank are the same page. Start with the loan type you need: the sections above show each loan provider's published rate, fees, tenure and prepayment terms for it, and the lower starting rate is not always the lower total cost.

Which has the lower personal loan interest rate: Federal Bank, Hero FinCorp or Punjab National Bank?

Punjab National Bank has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Federal Bank 11.75%, Hero FinCorp 17.90% and Punjab National Bank 11.25% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the loan provider's approval.

What is the personal loan processing fee at Federal Bank, Hero FinCorp and Punjab National Bank?

Federal Bank: not published. Hero FinCorp: Minimum 2.5% + GST, deducted at disbursal (non-refundable). Punjab National Bank: not published. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.

Which has the lower home loan interest rate: Federal Bank, Hero FinCorp or Punjab National Bank?

Federal Bank has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Federal Bank 7.35% and Punjab National Bank 8.15% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the loan provider's approval.

What is the maximum home loan tenure at Federal Bank, Hero FinCorp and Punjab National Bank?

Federal Bank: 360 months (30 years) for residents; nri capped at 20 years. Hero FinCorp: not published. Punjab National Bank: 30 years incl. moratorium (construction/purchase/land).

How much personal loan can I get from Federal Bank, Hero FinCorp and Punjab National Bank?

Federal Bank: not published. Hero FinCorp: not published. Punjab National Bank: Salaried up to 24x gross monthly salary capped Rs 20 lakh. The loan provider decides the final amount from your income, credit score and existing obligations.

What is the EMI on a ₹5 lakh personal loan at Federal Bank, Hero FinCorp and Punjab National Bank?

Over 5 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate: Federal Bank about ₹11,059 a month at 11.75%; Hero FinCorp about ₹12,670 a month at 17.90%; Punjab National Bank about ₹10,934 a month at 11.25%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.

What is the EMI on a ₹50 lakh home loan at Federal Bank, Hero FinCorp and Punjab National Bank?

Over 20 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate: Federal Bank about ₹39,822 a month at 7.35%; Punjab National Bank about ₹42,290 a month at 8.15%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.

Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Federal Bank, Hero FinCorp and Punjab National Bank?

Federal Bank: No pre-closure charges; part or full prepayment allowed. Hero FinCorp: not published. Punjab National Bank: not published. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.

Which loans do Federal Bank, Hero FinCorp and Punjab National Bank publish rates for?

Federal Bank: personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, education loan. Hero FinCorp: personal loan, loan against property, business loan, education loan. Punjab National Bank: personal loan, home loan, education loan. Based on each loan provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026.

Which is better for a car loan: Federal Bank, Hero FinCorp or Punjab National Bank?

On a car loan, Punjab National Bank has the lowest published starting rate at 7.60%, against 7.90% at Federal Bank and 9% at Hero FinCorp. See the full vehicle loan comparison for tenure, fees and EMI tables.

Are Federal Bank, Hero FinCorp and Punjab National Bank regulated by the RBI?

Federal Bank and Punjab National Bank are banks regulated by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI); Hero FinCorp is a non-banking finance company registered with and regulated by the RBI. Check a loan provider's registration on the RBI website before you apply, and apply only through its official channels.

How do I compare Federal Bank, Hero FinCorp and Punjab National Bank on real cost, not just the rate?

Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement, then compare three numbers: the APR, the total amount you repay and the fees charged upfront, such as processing fee, documentation charge and insurance. The loan with the lower APR and the lower total repayment is the cheaper one, even when its headline rate looks higher.

Does my credit score change the rate at Federal Bank, Hero FinCorp and Punjab National Bank?

Yes. Loan providers keep their lowest published rate for borrowers with a strong credit score, usually 750 and above, and steady income. A lower score or a short work history usually means a higher rate, a higher processing fee or a smaller loan amount.

Are the rates on this page the rate I will get?

No. They are the rates the loan providers publish, usually a range or a starting rate. Your approved rate depends on your credit score, income, loan amount, tenure and, for secured loans, the asset. Always read the Key Fact Statement before you sign.

Does KhatuLoans lend money or charge for this comparison?

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider. The loan provider decides approval, rate and terms. Our comparisons are free to read, and we are not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. See how we make money on our advertiser disclosure page.

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.