Key takeaways: Federal Bank vs SBI vs Tata Capital
- On a personal loan, SBI has the lowest published starting rate at 10%, against 11.75% at Federal Bank and 10.99% at Tata Capital.
- For a home loan, SBI starts lowest (7.25%) versus 7.35% at Federal Bank and 8% at Tata Capital.
- For a car loan, Federal Bank starts lowest (7.90%) versus 8.40% at SBI and 9.49% at Tata Capital.
- All of them publish a numeric starting rate for: personal loan, home loan, car loan and two-wheeler loan. That is the part of this page you can rank like for like.
- A starting rate is the best case. Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount before you choose.
Quick verdict: who each loan provider suits
Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each loan provider is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.
Pick Federal Bank if you want
- The lower published starting car loan rate (7.90%)
- The widest range of loan types with a published rate (7)
Pick SBI if you want
- The lower published starting personal loan rate (10%)
- The lower published starting home loan rate (7.25%)
- The lower published starting two-wheeler loan rate (11.70%)
- The longer personal loan tenure (84 months)
Where Tata Capital stands
No clear edge on the published figures we could compare. Check the product sections below and the Key Fact Statement.
Federal Bank vs SBI vs Tata Capital at a glance
| Detail | Federal Bank | SBI | Tata Capital |
|---|---|---|---|
| Loan provider type | Private bank | Public sector bank | NBFC |
| Legal name | The Federal Bank Limited | State Bank of India | Tata Capital Limited |
| Loan types with a published rate | Personal loan, Home loan, Loan against property, Business loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan | Personal loan, Home loan, Gold loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan | Personal loan, Home loan, Loan against property, Business loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan |
| Personal loan: published rate | 11.75% to 18.99% p.a. | Starting from 10.00% p.a. (T&C apply); scheme range 10.00% to 15.00% | 10.99% to 33% p.a. (APR 10.99% to 45%) |
| Personal loan: maximum tenure | 60 months | 84 months | 72 months |
| Home loan: published rate | 7.35% to 9.50% (term loan); 7.45% to 9.60% (overdraft); loans up to Rs 35 lakh priced 1% higher | 7.25% p.a. onwards (T&C apply), w.e.f. 01.04.2026 | 8.00% to 13% p.a. (salaried); 8.35% to 13% p.a. (self-employed); page also cites 'starting from 7.50%' |
| Home loan: maximum tenure | 360 months (30 years) for residents; NRI capped at 20 years | Up to 30 years; repayment to be completed by age 70 | 30 years |
| Official website | federal.bank.in | sbi.bank.in | tatacapital.com |
Searching for Tata Capital vs SBI vs Federal Bank instead? It is the same comparison, so both open this page.
Federal Bank vs SBI vs Tata Capital personal loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting personal loan rates as published: Federal Bank from 11.75%, SBI from 10% and Tata Capital from 10.99%. SBI is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. SBI lists the longer maximum tenure (84 months).
| Detail | Federal Bank | SBI | Tata Capital |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | 11.75% to 18.99% p.a. | Starting from 10.00% p.a. (T&C apply); scheme range 10.00% to 15.00% | 10.99% to 33% p.a. (APR 10.99% to 45%) |
| Rate basis | fixed | 2-year MCLR (8.75%) + spread 1.25% to 6.25% | Not published |
| Loan amount | Not published | Rs 1 lakh to Rs 50 lakh (subject to EMI/NMI up to 65% and 30 times NMI, whichever is lower) | ₹75,000 (EMI calculator range) to ₹35,00,000 (EMI calculator range) |
| Maximum tenure | 60 months | 84 months | 72 months |
| Processing fee | Not published | Up to 1.50% of loan amount (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 15,000) + GST; waivers for some customers | Up to 5% of loan amount + GST |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Part or full prepayment allowed; charges not stated on page | 2% of prepaid amount; waivers for some categories | Part-prepayment: nil up to 25% of disbursed amount; 6.5% within 12 months of first disbursal, 4.5% after |
| Eligibility (as published) | Age 21 to 55 years; monthly net salary Rs.25,000 and above | Age 21-60; min net monthly salary Rs 20,000 (govt/defence) or Rs 25,000 (corporate); no minimum CIBIL stated | No minimum CIBIL stated; 725+ gets better rates, below 700 rates rise |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | federal.bank.in/personal-loans federal.bank.in/loan-rate | sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/personal-loans/sbi-personal-loan sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/personal-loans-schemes | tatacapital.com/personal-loan/rates-and-charges.html |
EMI illustration: ₹5 lakh over 5 years
| Loan provider | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Federal Bank | 11.75% | ₹11,059 | ₹1,63,550 | ₹6,63,550 |
| SBI | 10% | ₹10,624 | ₹1,37,411 | ₹6,37,411 |
| Tata Capital | 10.99% | ₹10,869 | ₹1,52,123 | ₹6,52,123 |
Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Read the full guide: Personal loan
Federal Bank vs SBI vs Tata Capital personal loan: full comparison with EMI, fees and FAQs
Federal Bank vs SBI vs Tata Capital home loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting home loan rates as published: Federal Bank from 7.35%, SBI from 7.25% and Tata Capital from 8%. SBI is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered.
| Detail | Federal Bank | SBI | Tata Capital |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | 7.35% to 9.50% (term loan); 7.45% to 9.60% (overdraft); loans up to Rs 35 lakh priced 1% higher | 7.25% p.a. onwards (T&C apply), w.e.f. 01.04.2026 | 8.00% to 13% p.a. (salaried); 8.35% to 13% p.a. (self-employed); page also cites 'starting from 7.50%' |
| Rate basis | floating, linked to RBI Repo Rate | Floating, linked to Repo Rate via EBLR; interest on daily reducing balance | Fixed and floating options; benchmark (RLLR/MCLR) mentioned generally |
| Loan amount | Rs. 1500 lakhs (page title says up to Rs 15 lakhs; inconsistent) | Not published | Rs. 5 lakh to Rs. 7.5 crore (may increase case-by-case) |
| Maximum tenure | 360 months (30 years) for residents; NRI capped at 20 years | Up to 30 years; repayment to be completed by age 70 | 30 years |
| Processing fee | Not published | 0.35% of loan amount + GST, min Rs 2,000 max Rs 10,000 (FAQ page) | Up to 3% of loan amount + GST |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | No pre-closure charges; part or full prepayment allowed | Prepayment allowed without penalty | No prepayment charge when repaid from own funds; nominal charge if others' funds used |
| Eligibility (as published) | Self-employed residents up to 65 years (80 with co-obligant); NRI age not above 55 at end of tenure | Resident of India or NRI; min age 18; EMI/NMI ratio 20% to 70% by income slab | CIBIL over 750 gives more competitive rates; age/income not stated |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | federal.bank.in/housing-loan federal.bank.in/loan-rate | sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/home-loans-interest-rates-current homeloans.sbi.bank.in/faq homeloans.sbi.bank.in/downloads/Processing-Fee-Card-Rates.pdf | tatacapital.com/home-loan/rates-and-charges.html |
EMI illustration: ₹50 lakh over 20 years
| Loan provider | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Federal Bank | 7.35% | ₹39,822 | ₹45,57,354 | ₹95,57,354 |
| SBI | 7.25% | ₹39,519 | ₹44,84,512 | ₹94,84,512 |
| Tata Capital | 8% | ₹41,822 | ₹50,37,281 | ₹1,00,37,281 |
Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Read the full guide: Home loan
Federal Bank vs SBI vs Tata Capital home loan: full comparison with EMI, fees and FAQs
Federal Bank vs SBI vs Tata Capital loan against property: rate, fees and tenure
Starting loan against property rates as published: Federal Bank from 8.30% and Tata Capital from 9%. Federal Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Tata Capital lists the longer maximum tenure (20 years). SBI does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.
| Detail | Federal Bank | SBI | Tata Capital |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Property Power Loan 8.30% to 10.00% (term), 8.50% to 10.50% (overdraft) | Not published | Floating from 9% p.a.; fixed from 13% p.a.; both up to 17% p.a. |
| Rate basis | floating, linked to RBI Repo Rate (fixed also available) | Interest on daily reducing balance (rate not stated on fetched pages) | Floating / fixed options |
| Loan amount | Up to Rs. 20 Crore | Not published | Up to Rs. 10 crore |
| Maximum tenure | 15 years (120 months) | Up to 15 years (P-LAP) | 20 years |
| Processing fee | Not published | P-LAP page: 1% of loan amount + tax, capped at Rs 50,000. Fee page: Loan against Mortgage of Immovable Property 1.01% of loan… | Up to 3% of sanctioned amount, non-refundable |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Foreclosure and part-payment processes described; charges not stated | No prepayment penalty | Individual non-business use: none. Others: foreclosure 6% of outstanding principal within 12 months, 4% after |
| Eligibility (as published) | Resident/NRI/PIO; minimum age 24; salaried or self-employed; 720 or above credit score for better approval chances | Resident Indian, age 18 to 70 | CIBIL 700+ suggested; not a stated requirement |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | federal.bank.in/loan-against-property federal.bank.in/loan-rate | homeloans.sbi.bank.in/products/view/loan-against-property sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/processing-fees | tatacapital.com/loan-against-property/rates-and-charges.html |
EMI illustration: ₹25 lakh over 10 years
| Loan provider | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Federal Bank | 8.30% | ₹30,730 | ₹11,87,558 | ₹36,87,558 |
| Tata Capital | 9% | ₹31,669 | ₹13,00,273 | ₹38,00,273 |
Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Read the full guide: Loan against property
Federal Bank vs SBI vs Tata Capital business loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting business loan rates as published: Federal Bank from 10.85% and Tata Capital from 12%. Federal Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Federal Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (120 months). SBI does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.
| Detail | Federal Bank | SBI | Tata Capital |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Other Business Loans 10.85% to 16.60% (MSME, floating repo-linked); 11.90% to 17.75% (non-MSME, MCLR-linked) | Not published | Starts at 12% p.a.; self-employed 12% to 30% p.a. |
| Rate basis | repo-linked (MSME) / MCLR (non-MSME) / fixed | SME products priced as spread over MCLR on the official rate page | Primarily floating, linked to RLLR or PLR; fixed in some cases |
| Loan amount | Up to Rs 20 crore (rate table scope) | Not published | Not published |
| Maximum tenure | 120 months | Not published | 60 months |
| Processing fee | Not published | Not published | Up to 3% of loan amount + taxes |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Not published | Not published | Part-prepayment 4.5% of amount prepaid; foreclosure 4.5% of principal outstanding |
| Eligibility (as published) | Individuals, proprietorships, partnerships, LLPs, companies in manufacturing, services or trading | SME Credit Card up to Rs 10 lakh; SME Smart Score loan Rs 10 lakh to Rs 50 lakh (listed on page) | CIBIL about 675+ generally needed |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | federal.bank.in/business-loans federal.bank.in/loan-rate | sbi.bank.in/web/business/small-business-loans sbi.bank.in/web/business/sme/sme-loans sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/sme-segment | tatacapital.com/business-loan/rates-and-charges.html |
Read the full guide: Business loan
Federal Bank vs SBI vs Tata Capital gold loan: rate, fees and tenure
Only SBI publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Federal Bank does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site. Tata Capital has no gold loan terms we could verify on its official site.
| Detail | Federal Bank | SBI | Tata Capital |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Not published | Mean rate 9.25%; 12-month bullet 9.15%, EMI-based 10.10%, overdraft 10.10% (page also lists 10.00% in FAQ) | Not published |
| Rate basis | Not published | 1-year MCLR (8.70%) + spread 0.45% (bullet) / 1.40% (EMI, OD) | Not published |
| Loan amount | Rs 3,000 to Rs 150 Lacs | Rs 20,000 (overdraft Rs 5,00,000) to Rs 1 crore per individual per FAQ (page also cites Rs 50 lakh ceiling) | Not published |
| Maximum tenure | Not published | EMI 36 months; bullet 12 months; overdraft 36 months | Not published |
| Processing fee | Not published | Features table: 0.25%-0.30% + GST with minimums (Rs 250 to Rs 7,500) | Not published |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Foreclosure and prepayment allowed; charges not stated | No prepayment penalty; no foreclosure charges | Not published |
| Eligibility (as published) | Individuals above 18 years with gold to pledge | Age 18+ with steady income; individuals singly or jointly | Not published |
| Other terms published |
|
| Not published |
| Official source | federal.bank.in/gold-loans | sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/gold-loan/personal-gold-loans sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/processing-fees | Not published |
Read the full guide: Gold loan
Federal Bank vs SBI vs Tata Capital education loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting education loan rates as published: Federal Bank from 10.10% and SBI from 9.40%. SBI is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Tata Capital does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.
| Detail | Federal Bank | SBI | Tata Capital |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | 10.10% to 13.50% | Student Loan 9.40% (with collateral) / 9.90% (without collateral up to Rs 7.50 lakh); Scholar Loan 6.90% to 7.65% | 11.30% p.a. (disbursed on/after 1 May 2024); 11.50% from 1 Sep 2024 |
| Rate basis | floating, linked to RBI Repo Rate | Floating, linked to External Benchmark Rate (EBR 7.90% = Repo 5.25% + 2.65%) | Reducing balance; fixed/floating not stated |
| Loan amount | Special Vidya Loan: Rs 10 lakhs (India), Rs 20 lakhs (abroad); Fed Scholars: Rs 20 lakhs | Student Loan: India up to Rs 50 lakh / Rs 75 lakh (medical, NIRF top-100), abroad up to Rs 7.50 lakh | ₹200 lakhs (secured); ₹85 lakhs (unsecured) |
| Maximum tenure | Moratorium (course period + 1 year) plus 15 years | Up to 15 years after course period + 12-month repayment holiday | Up to 15 years |
| Processing fee | Fed Scholars: no processing fee | Student Loan: nil up to Rs 10 lakh; Rs 5,000 + GST for Rs 10-20 lakh | Up to 2% of loan amount (non-refundable) |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Not published | Not published | Foreclosure: Nil; part-prepayment: Nil |
| Eligibility (as published) | Indian national with admission to approved professional/technical course; vocational courses not eligible | Indian national with admission to eligible course in India/abroad; parent/guardian co-borrower | Co-applicant's credit score and income assessed; guarantor usually required for full-time programs |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | federal.bank.in/education-and-career-loans federal.bank.in/loan-rate | sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/education-loan-scheme sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/education-loans/student-loan-scheme sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/education-loans/scholar-loan-scheme | tatacapital.com/education-loan/rates-and-charges.html |
Read the full guide: Education loan
Federal Bank vs SBI vs Tata Capital vehicle loans
For a car loan, Federal Bank starts lowest (7.90%) versus 8.40% at SBI and 9.49% at Tata Capital. For a two-wheeler loan, SBI starts lowest (11.70%) versus 12.60% at Federal Bank and 12.50% at Tata Capital.
| Detail | Federal Bank | SBI | Tata Capital |
|---|---|---|---|
| Car loan: published rate | 7.90% - 9.00% | 8.40% - 9.35% | From 9.49% p.a. |
| Car loan: maximum tenure | 84 months | 7 years | 84 months (product page); rates page calculator shows 72 months |
| Car loan: processing fee | 1% of loan (min ₹1,000, max ₹50,000) | Rs 1,000-3,000 + GST (salaried) / Rs 1,500-4,000 + GST (non-salaried), slab by loan amount | Up to 2.95% of loan amount |
| Two-wheeler loan: published rate | 12.60% - 16.00% | 11.70% - 15.70% | From 12.5% p.a. |
| Two-wheeler loan: maximum tenure | 60 months | Up to 60 months | 60 months |
| Two-wheeler loan: processing fee | 2.50% (min ₹2,500) | 3% of loan + GST (50% waiver for salary package customers) | Up to 4% + taxes |
Full vehicle loan comparison for Federal Bank vs SBI vs Tata Capital (all vehicle types, EMI tables and sources) · Vehicle loans guide
Which is better: Federal Bank, SBI or Tata Capital?
No loan provider is best for everyone. This is how the published figures split, product by product.
- Personal loan, lower starting rate: SBI (10%) versus 11.75% at Federal Bank and 10.99% at Tata Capital.
- Home loan, lower starting rate: SBI (7.25%) versus 7.35% at Federal Bank and 8% at Tata Capital.
- Car loan, lower starting rate: Federal Bank (7.90%) versus 8.40% at SBI and 9.49% at Tata Capital.
- Two-wheeler loan, lower starting rate: SBI (11.70%) versus 12.60% at Federal Bank and 12.50% at Tata Capital.
- Personal loan, longer maximum tenure: SBI (84 months). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
- Loan against property, longer maximum tenure: Tata Capital (20 years). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
- Business loan, longer maximum tenure: Federal Bank (120 months). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
Pick on total cost, not the headline rate: ask each loan provider for the Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount. A low rate with a high processing fee can cost more than a slightly higher rate with no fee. If you already bank with one of them, a salary or relationship account can change the rate you are offered, so ask.
Bank type and how each loan provider sets its rate
Federal Bank is a private bank, SBI is a public sector bank and Tata Capital is an NBFC.
How the loan providers' own pages say their rates are set:
- Federal Bank personal loan: fixed.
- Federal Bank home loan: floating, linked to RBI Repo Rate.
- SBI personal loan: 2-year MCLR (8.75%) + spread 1.25% to 6.25%.
- SBI home loan: Floating, linked to Repo Rate via EBLR; interest on daily reducing balance.
- Tata Capital home loan: Fixed and floating options; benchmark (RLLR/MCLR) mentioned generally.
Public sector banks, private banks and non-banking finance companies (NBFCs) price differently. Banks usually link floating rates to the RBI repo rate or their own benchmark and add a spread based on your credit score; NBFCs more often quote a wider range with a higher ceiling and charge higher processing fees. Some publish a range, some only a starting rate and some only a ceiling, which is why this page compares like with like and marks every gap as not published instead of guessing.
About Federal Bank, SBI and Tata Capital
Federal Bank
Private bank · The Federal Bank Limited
We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on Federal Bank's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.
Lowest published starting rate on this page: 7.35% (Home loan)
SBI
Public sector bank · State Bank of India
We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on SBI's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.
Lowest published starting rate on this page: 7.25% (Home loan)
Tata Capital
NBFC · Tata Capital Limited
We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan and education loan on Tata Capital's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.
Lowest published starting rate on this page: 8% (Home loan)
Explore each loan provider: loans, calculators and more comparisons
Federal Bank
- Federal Bank vehicle loans
- Federal Bank car loan
- Federal Bank used car loan
- Federal Bank two-wheeler loan
More comparisons
SBI
More comparisons
Guides: Personal loans · Home loans · Car loan · Car loan EMI calculator · EMI calculators
What to check before you choose a loan provider
- Ask for the Key Fact Statement (KFS). RBI requires loan providers to give you one before you sign, showing the interest rate, all fees, the APR and the total amount you will repay.
- Compare APR, not the headline rate. Processing fee, documentation charges and insurance change the real cost.
- Check the rate basis. A floating rate moves with the loan provider's benchmark; a fixed rate does not. Ask when the rate resets.
- Ask about prepayment and foreclosure. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
- Read the eligibility and documents. Income, credit score, employment type and collateral decide the rate band you land in.
Terms used on this page
Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.
Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.
APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.
Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.
Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.
Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.
Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.
Sources, method and last check
Every figure above comes from the loan provider's own website. We checked them on 12 October 2026 (vehicle loan figures on 4 October 2026) and list the pages used.
- Federal Bank: federal.bank.in/personal-loans · federal.bank.in/loan-rate · federal.bank.in/housing-loan · federal.bank.in/loan-against-property · federal.bank.in/business-loans · federal.bank.in/gold-loans
- SBI: sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/personal-loans/sbi-personal-loan · sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/personal-loans-schemes · sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/home-loans-interest-rates-current · homeloans.sbi.bank.in/faq · homeloans.sbi.bank.in/downloads/Processing-Fee-Card-Rates.pdf · homeloans.sbi.bank.in/products/view/loan-against-property
- Tata Capital: tatacapital.com/personal-loan/rates-and-charges.html · tatacapital.com/home-loan/rates-and-charges.html · tatacapital.com/loan-against-property/rates-and-charges.html · tatacapital.com/business-loan/rates-and-charges.html · tatacapital.com/education-loan/rates-and-charges.html · tatacapital.com/vehicle-loan/car-loan.html
| Loan provider | Official pages opened | Loan types with a published rate | Loan types where rate is not published | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Federal Bank | 11 | 7 | 1 | 12 October 2026 |
| SBI | 17 | 6 | 2 | 12 October 2026 |
| Tata Capital | 8 | 6 | 2 | 12 October 2026 |
A "not published" count means we opened the loan provider's page for that product and the rate was not shown there, or the loan provider has no such page on its site. If you spot an error, tell us and we will correct it.
Method: we list only figures we could read on the loan provider's official pages. A blank means the loan provider does not publish that figure on the page we checked, and we never estimate one. Rankings use the published starting rate and published maximum tenure only. Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.
More loan provider comparisons
Federal Bank compared with other loan providers (16)
SBI compared with other loan providers (16)
Tata Capital compared with other loan providers (16)
Head-to-head pages for these three loan providers (3)
Swap one loan provider (6)
Compare any two or three loan providers · Personal loans · Home loans · Vehicle loans
Frequently asked questions
Which is better: Federal Bank, SBI or Tata Capital?
On a personal loan, SBI has the lowest published starting rate at 10%, against 11.75% at Federal Bank and 10.99% at Tata Capital. For a home loan, SBI starts lowest (7.25%) versus 7.35% at Federal Bank and 8% at Tata Capital. The page also compares car loans and two-wheeler loans. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 12 October 2026. The better choice depends on your profile, the loan type, the amount and the fees in your offer letter.
Tata Capital, SBI or Federal Bank: which should I pick for a loan?
Order does not change the comparison, so Federal Bank vs SBI vs Tata Capital and Tata Capital vs SBI vs Federal Bank are the same page. Start with the loan type you need: the sections above show each loan provider's published rate, fees, tenure and prepayment terms for it, and the lower starting rate is not always the lower total cost.
Which has the lower personal loan interest rate: Federal Bank, SBI or Tata Capital?
SBI has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Federal Bank 11.75%, SBI 10% and Tata Capital 10.99% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the loan provider's approval.
What is the personal loan processing fee at Federal Bank, SBI and Tata Capital?
Federal Bank: not published. SBI: Up to 1.50% of loan amount (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 15,000) + GST; waivers for some customers. Tata Capital: Up to 5% of loan amount + GST. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.
Which has the lower home loan interest rate: Federal Bank, SBI or Tata Capital?
SBI has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Federal Bank 7.35%, SBI 7.25% and Tata Capital 8% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the loan provider's approval.
What is the home loan processing fee at Federal Bank, SBI and Tata Capital?
Federal Bank: not published. SBI: 0.35% of loan amount + GST, min Rs 2,000 max Rs 10,000 (FAQ page). Tata Capital: Up to 3% of loan amount + GST. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.
What is the maximum home loan tenure at Federal Bank, SBI and Tata Capital?
Federal Bank: 360 months (30 years) for residents; nri capped at 20 years. SBI: up to 30 years; repayment to be completed by age 70. Tata Capital: 30 years.
How much personal loan can I get from Federal Bank, SBI and Tata Capital?
Federal Bank: not published. SBI: Rs 1 lakh to Rs 50 lakh (subject to EMI/NMI up to 65% and 30 times NMI, whichever is lower). Tata Capital: ₹75,000 (EMI calculator range) to ₹35,00,000 (EMI calculator range). The loan provider decides the final amount from your income, credit score and existing obligations.
What is the EMI on a ₹5 lakh personal loan at Federal Bank, SBI and Tata Capital?
Over 5 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate: Federal Bank about ₹11,059 a month at 11.75%; SBI about ₹10,624 a month at 10%; Tata Capital about ₹10,869 a month at 10.99%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.
What is the EMI on a ₹50 lakh home loan at Federal Bank, SBI and Tata Capital?
Over 20 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate: Federal Bank about ₹39,822 a month at 7.35%; SBI about ₹39,519 a month at 7.25%; Tata Capital about ₹41,822 a month at 8%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.
Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Federal Bank, SBI and Tata Capital?
Federal Bank: No pre-closure charges; part or full prepayment allowed. SBI: Prepayment allowed without penalty. Tata Capital: No prepayment charge when repaid from own funds; nominal charge if others' funds used. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
Which loans do Federal Bank, SBI and Tata Capital publish rates for?
Federal Bank: personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, education loan. SBI: personal loan, home loan, gold loan, education loan. Tata Capital: personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan. Based on each loan provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026.
Which is better for a car loan: Federal Bank, SBI or Tata Capital?
For a car loan, Federal Bank starts lowest (7.90%) versus 8.40% at SBI and 9.49% at Tata Capital. See the full vehicle loan comparison for tenure, fees and EMI tables.
Are Federal Bank, SBI and Tata Capital regulated by the RBI?
Federal Bank and SBI are banks regulated by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI); Tata Capital is a non-banking finance company registered with and regulated by the RBI. Check a loan provider's registration on the RBI website before you apply, and apply only through its official channels.
How do I compare Federal Bank, SBI and Tata Capital on real cost, not just the rate?
Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement, then compare three numbers: the APR, the total amount you repay and the fees charged upfront, such as processing fee, documentation charge and insurance. The loan with the lower APR and the lower total repayment is the cheaper one, even when its headline rate looks higher.
Does my credit score change the rate at Federal Bank, SBI and Tata Capital?
Yes. Loan providers keep their lowest published rate for borrowers with a strong credit score, usually 750 and above, and steady income. A lower score or a short work history usually means a higher rate, a higher processing fee or a smaller loan amount.
Are the rates on this page the rate I will get?
No. They are the rates the loan providers publish, usually a range or a starting rate. Your approved rate depends on your credit score, income, loan amount, tenure and, for secured loans, the asset. Always read the Key Fact Statement before you sign.
Does KhatuLoans lend money or charge for this comparison?
KhatuLoans is not a loan provider. The loan provider decides approval, rate and terms. Our comparisons are free to read, and we are not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. See how we make money on our advertiser disclosure page.
KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.
