Skip to content
Comparing loans? See rates, fees and EMI side by side.Check loan options

Punjab National Bank vs SBI vs Union Bank of India: Which Is Better for a Loan?

Written by KhatuLoans Editorial Team · Edited by Hemant Kumar, Founder and Editor · Figures checked · Information only, not a loan provider

For a home loan, SBI starts lowest (7.25%) versus 8.15% at Punjab National Bank and 8.60% at Union Bank of India. For a car loan, Punjab National Bank and Union Bank of India start lowest (7.60%) versus 8.40% at SBI. The page also compares two-wheeler loans. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 12 October 2026.

Change the comparison
vsvs

Pick two or three banks or NBFCs. The page always lists them A to Z, so the same set always opens the same page.

Key takeaways: Punjab National Bank vs SBI vs Union Bank of India

  • For a home loan, SBI starts lowest (7.25%) versus 8.15% at Punjab National Bank and 8.60% at Union Bank of India.
  • For a car loan, Punjab National Bank and Union Bank of India start lowest (7.60%) versus 8.40% at SBI.
  • For a two-wheeler loan, Punjab National Bank starts lowest (10%) versus 11.70% at SBI and 11.10% at Union Bank of India.
  • All of them publish a numeric starting rate for: home loan, car loan and two-wheeler loan. That is the part of this page you can rank like for like.
  • No numeric starting rate on the loan provider's own site: Union Bank of India for personal loan. We show "Not published" instead of estimating.
  • A starting rate is the best case. Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount before you choose.

Quick verdict: who each loan provider suits

Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each loan provider is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.

Pick Punjab National Bank if you want

  • A joint-lowest published starting car loan rate (7.60%)
  • The lower published starting two-wheeler loan rate (10%)

Pick SBI if you want

  • The lower published starting home loan rate (7.25%)
  • The widest range of loan types with a published rate (6)

Pick Union Bank of India if you want

  • A joint-lowest published starting car loan rate (7.60%)
Home loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
Punjab National Bank8.15%
SBI7.25% ✓
Union Bank of India8.60%
Car loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
Punjab National Bank7.60% ✓
SBI8.40%
Union Bank of India7.60% ✓
Two-wheeler loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
Punjab National Bank10% ✓
SBI11.70%
Union Bank of India11.10%

Starting rates are the best case a loan provider advertises. Your offered rate depends on your profile.

Punjab National Bank vs SBI vs Union Bank of India at a glance

DetailPunjab National BankSBIUnion Bank of India
Loan provider typePublic sector bankPublic sector bankPublic sector bank
Legal namePunjab National BankState Bank of IndiaUnion Bank of India
Loan types with a published ratePersonal loan, Home loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loanPersonal loan, Home loan, Gold loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loanHome loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan
Personal loan: published rate11.25% p.a. (Pre-Approved Personal Loan and PNB Swaagat), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates noticeStarting from 10.00% p.a. (T&C apply); scheme range 10.00% to 15.00%EBLR + 1.05% to EBLR + 4.35% (salaried); EBLR + 1.10% to +4.65% (non-salaried), by CIC score (w.e.f. 08.10.2026
Personal loan: maximum tenureSalaried 72 EMIs (defence 60); self-employed 60 EMIs or age 6584 monthsNot published
Home loan: published rate8.15% to 8.30% p.a. (PNB Max Saver 8.30%; others start at 8.15%), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates notice7.25% p.a. onwards (T&C apply), w.e.f. 01.04.2026Starts at 8.60% p.a.; EBLR - 0.85% (CIC 825+) to EBLR + 1.35% (CIC 600-649) per rate PDF w.e.f. 08.10.2026
Home loan: maximum tenure30 years incl. moratorium (construction/purchase/land)Up to 30 years; repayment to be completed by age 70Not published
Official websitepnb.bank.insbi.bank.inunionbankofindia.bank.in

Searching for Union Bank of India vs SBI vs Punjab National Bank instead? It is the same comparison, so both open this page.

Punjab National Bank vs SBI vs Union Bank of India personal loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting personal loan rates as published: Punjab National Bank from 11.25% and SBI from 10%. SBI is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. SBI lists the longer maximum tenure (84 months). Union Bank of India does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailPunjab National BankSBIUnion Bank of India
Published rate11.25% p.a. (Pre-Approved Personal Loan and PNB Swaagat), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates noticeStarting from 10.00% p.a. (T&C apply); scheme range 10.00% to 15.00%EBLR + 1.05% to EBLR + 4.35% (salaried); EBLR + 1.10% to +4.65% (non-salaried), by CIC score (w.e.f. 08.10.2026
Rate basisNot published2-year MCLR (8.75%) + spread 1.25% to 6.25%EBLR (repo-linked)
Loan amountSalaried up to 24x gross monthly salary capped Rs 20 lakhRs 1 lakh to Rs 50 lakh (subject to EMI/NMI up to 65% and 30 times NMI, whichever is lower)Not published
Maximum tenureSalaried 72 EMIs (defence 60); self-employed 60 EMIs or age 6584 monthsNot published
Processing feeNot publishedUp to 1.50% of loan amount (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 15,000) + GST; waivers for some customersNot published
Prepayment / foreclosureNil2% of prepaid amount; waivers for some categoriesNot published
Eligibility (as published)Salaried: confirmed govt/PSU/reputed institution employees with 2 yrs service, salary via PNB accountAge 21-60; min net monthly salary Rs 20,000 (govt/defence) or Rs 25,000 (corporate); no minimum CIBIL statedSchemes for salaried, non-salaried with regular income, government employees, women professionals
Other terms published
  • No margin required
  • No prepayment charges
  • Security: suitable third-party guarantee
  • Wide range of personal needs
  • Loan up to Rs 50 lakh
  • Rates starting from 10.00%
  • Low processing charges
  • Minimal documentation
  • Women, salaried, non-salaried, government employee and Ashiyana schemes
  • Takeover of personal loans possible under some schemes
Official sourcepnb.bank.in/personalloanforpublic.html
pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx
sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/personal-loans/sbi-personal-loan
sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/personal-loans-schemes
unionbankofindia.bank.in/en/listing/personal-loan
unionbankofindia.bank.in/pdf/retail_roi.pdf

EMI illustration: ₹5 lakh over 5 years

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Punjab National Bank11.25%₹10,934₹1,56,019₹6,56,019
SBI10%₹10,624₹1,37,411₹6,37,411

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Read the full guide: Personal loan

Punjab National Bank vs SBI vs Union Bank of India home loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting home loan rates as published: Punjab National Bank from 8.15%, SBI from 7.25% and Union Bank of India from 8.60%. SBI is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered.

DetailPunjab National BankSBIUnion Bank of India
Published rate8.15% to 8.30% p.a. (PNB Max Saver 8.30%; others start at 8.15%), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates notice7.25% p.a. onwards (T&C apply), w.e.f. 01.04.2026Starts at 8.60% p.a.; EBLR - 0.85% (CIC 825+) to EBLR + 1.35% (CIC 600-649) per rate PDF w.e.f. 08.10.2026
Rate basisNot publishedFloating, linked to Repo Rate via EBLR; interest on daily reducing balanceEBLR (repo-linked); fixed option max 5 years at 11.40% to 12.65%
Loan amountNeed based; land/plot purchase and repairs capped at Rs 100 lakhNot publishedNot published
Maximum tenure30 years incl. moratorium (construction/purchase/land)Up to 30 years; repayment to be completed by age 70Not published
Processing feeNot published0.35% of loan amount + GST, min Rs 2,000 max Rs 10,000 (FAQ page)Not published
Prepayment / foreclosureNot publishedPrepayment allowed without penaltyNone; no prepayment penalty on Union Home Loan
Eligibility (as published)Individuals with assured source of regular income (salaried, professionals, self-employed, businessmen, farmers)Resident of India or NRI; min age 18; EMI/NMI ratio 20% to 70% by income slabBased on income, repayment capacity, age, margin, credit bureau record
Other terms published
  • Finances construction, purchase, land/plot, additions, renovation
  • Margin 20%/10% up to Rs 30 lakh, 20% Rs 30-75 lakh, 25% above Rs 75 lakh
  • Repayment holiday up to 18 months for construction
  • Max Saver overdraft variant (min Rs 10 lakh)
  • Pre-EMI option during construction
  • Pre-approved loans / in-principle approval
  • 0.05% p.a. concession if woman is main or co-applicant
  • Section 80C principal deduction up to Rs 1.5 lakh
  • Instant in-principle approval
  • Sanction about 5 working days after documents
  • Takeover from other banks/FIs
  • Property insurance mandatory
Official sourcepnb.bank.in/housingloanforpublic.html
pnb.bank.in/max-saver-housing-loan.html
pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx
sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/home-loans-interest-rates-current
homeloans.sbi.bank.in/faq
homeloans.sbi.bank.in/downloads/Processing-Fee-Card-Rates.pdf
unionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/home-loan-interest-rate
unionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/home-loan
unionbankofindia.bank.in/pdf/retail_roi.pdf

EMI illustration: ₹50 lakh over 20 years

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Punjab National Bank8.15%₹42,290₹51,49,594₹1,01,49,594
SBI7.25%₹39,519₹44,84,512₹94,84,512
Union Bank of India8.60%₹43,708₹54,89,953₹1,04,89,953

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Read the full guide: Home loan

Punjab National Bank vs SBI vs Union Bank of India home loan: full comparison with EMI, fees and FAQs

Punjab National Bank vs SBI vs Union Bank of India loan against property: rate, fees and tenure

None of these loan providers publishes a plain starting rate for a loan against property; some tie the rate to a benchmark and add a spread, which is shown in the table as published. Punjab National Bank, SBI and Union Bank of India do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site.

DetailPunjab National BankSBIUnion Bank of India
Published rateNot publishedNot publishedEBLR + 1.05% to EBLR + 3.85% by property type and CIC score (w.e.f. 08.10.2026)
Rate basisRate not stated on page (links to separate MCLR-linked rate page)Interest on daily reducing balance (rate not stated on fetched pages)EBLR (repo-linked)
Loan amountRs 2.00 lakh to Rs 500.00 lakhNot publishedNot published
Maximum tenureTerm loan 180 months or up to age 70; overdraft 15 years or up to age 70Up to 15 years (P-LAP)Not published
Processing feeNot publishedP-LAP page: 1% of loan amount + tax, capped at Rs 50,000. Fee page: Loan against Mortgage of Immovable Property 1.01% of loan…Not published
Prepayment / foreclosureNilNo prepayment penaltyNot published
Eligibility (as published)Salaried min net monthly salary Rs 25,000; non-salaried min net annual income Rs 3,00,000Resident Indian, age 18 to 70Indian citizens owning non-agricultural property with regular income
Other terms published
  • Term loan or overdraft
  • For personal purposes, excluding speculative/real estate business
  • Secured by mortgage of non-encumbered property with 25+ years residual life
  • Capped at 65% of realizable value or 36x monthly income
  • Low interest rates
  • Low processing fees
  • No hidden charges
  • Interest on daily reducing balance
  • Term loan or overdraft
  • Usable for personal needs
  • Takeover of mortgage loans available
  • Sanction about 7 working days
Official sourcepnb.bank.in/loanagainstmortgage.htmlhomeloans.sbi.bank.in/products/view/loan-against-property
sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/processing-fees
unionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/union-mortgage
unionbankofindia.bank.in/pdf/retail_roi.pdf

Read the full guide: Loan against property

Punjab National Bank vs SBI vs Union Bank of India business loan: rate, fees and tenure

None of these loan providers publishes a plain starting rate for a business loan; some tie the rate to a benchmark and add a spread, which is shown in the table as published. Punjab National Bank, SBI and Union Bank of India do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site.

DetailPunjab National BankSBIUnion Bank of India
Published rateCompetitive, linked to RLLR (Repo Rate); figure not statedNot publishedFloating, linked to EBLR (no figure stated)
Rate basisRLLR (Repo linked)SME products priced as spread over MCLR on the official rate pageEBLR
Loan amountUp to Rs 10 lakh; up to Rs 25 lakh if assessed on current account credit summationNot publishedRs. 10 lakh to Rs. 50 crore (overdraft limit Rs. 10 crore)
Maximum tenureTerm loan up to 7 years incl. moratorium up to 6 monthsNot publishedNot published
Processing feeNil up to Rs 0.50 lakh; 0.30% of loan amount + 18% GST above Rs 0.50 lakhNot publishedNot published
Eligibility (as published)Valid Udyam Registration; individuals/sole proprietors in manufacturing, trading, services; no existing fund-based CC/ODSME Credit Card up to Rs 10 lakh; SME Smart Score loan Rs 10 lakh to Rs 50 lakh (listed on page)Not published
Other terms published
  • No collateral required
  • CGTMSE guarantee cover
  • Overdraft or term loan
  • Digital (Digi MSME Loan)
  • Page lists Small Business Loans, Digital Loans, Industry Specific Loans, PMMY, CGTMSE, PMEGP
  • Term loans and/or working capital
  • Top-up up to 20% of assessed limit, max Rs. 5 crore
  • EMI repayment via ECS/direct debit
Official sourcepnb.bank.in/Digi-MSME-Loan.htmlsbi.bank.in/web/business/small-business-loans
sbi.bank.in/web/business/sme/sme-loans
sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/sme-segment
unionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/union-msme-suvidha

Read the full guide: Business loan

Punjab National Bank vs SBI vs Union Bank of India gold loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only SBI publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. SBI lists the longer maximum tenure (emi 36 months; bullet 12 months; overdraft 36 months). Punjab National Bank and Union Bank of India do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site.

DetailPunjab National BankSBIUnion Bank of India
Published rateRLLR + 0.85% (up to Rs 10 lakh); RLLR + 0.90% (above Rs 10 lakh)Mean rate 9.25%; 12-month bullet 9.15%, EMI-based 10.10%, overdraft 10.10% (page also lists 10.00% in FAQ)Union Swarna Shakti (Retail): EBLR + 1.40% (male, 22K) / EBLR + 1.30% (female, 22K); MSME Gold Loan Plus: EBLR + 0.70%
Rate basisRLLR-linked1-year MCLR (8.70%) + spread 0.45% (bullet) / 1.40% (EMI, OD)EBLR / MCLR
Loan amountRs 25,000 to Rs 25,00,000 per borrowerRs 20,000 (overdraft Rs 5,00,000) to Rs 1 crore per individual per FAQ (page also cites Rs 50 lakh ceiling)Up to Rs. 50 lakh (Retail, MSME); Rs. 25 lakh (Krishi Kamdhenu)
Maximum tenure12 months bullet; 36 months EMIEMI 36 months; bullet 12 months; overdraft 36 monthsNot published
Processing fee0.30% of loan amount + GST or Rs 500 + GST, whichever is higherFeatures table: 0.25%-0.30% + GST with minimums (Rs 250 to Rs 7,500)Not published
Prepayment / foreclosureNot publishedNo prepayment penalty; no foreclosure chargesNot published
Eligibility (as published)Individual resident of India; existing or new-to-bank customersAge 18+ with steady income; individuals singly or jointlyNot published
Other terms published
  • Disbursed digitally to operative account
  • Secured by pledge of gold jewellery/ornaments
  • Nil documentation charge
  • Bullet or EMI repayment
  • Secured by gold ornaments or bank-sold gold coins (max 50 g)
  • Margin 28% (EMI), 35% (bullet), 26% (OD)
  • No loan against 24-carat bars or biscuits
  • Appraiser charges paid by applicant
  • Rates differ for 22K vs lower karat and by gender
  • Rates subject to revision
Official sourcepnb.bank.in/DigitalGoldLoan.htmlsbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/gold-loan/personal-gold-loans
sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/processing-fees
unionbankofindia.bank.in/en/listing/gold-loan

Read the full guide: Gold loan

Punjab National Bank vs SBI vs Union Bank of India education loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting education loan rates as published: Punjab National Bank from 7.85% and SBI from 9.40%. Punjab National Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Union Bank of India does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailPunjab National BankSBIUnion Bank of India
Published rate7.85% to 9.00% p.a. (Digi Education, PM Vidyalaxmi, Pratibha 7.85%Student Loan 9.40% (with collateral) / 9.90% (without collateral up to Rs 7.50 lakh); Scholar Loan 6.90% to 7.65%EBLR + 2.00% (male) / +1.50% (female) up to Rs.7.50 lakh; EBLR + 1.75% / +1.25% above Rs.7.50 lakh (w.e.f. 08.10.2026)
Rate basisNot publishedFloating, linked to External Benchmark Rate (EBR 7.90% = Repo 5.25% + 2.65%)EBLR
Loan amountNeed based (subject to margin guidelines)Student Loan: India up to Rs 50 lakh / Rs 75 lakh (medical, NIRF top-100), abroad up to Rs 7.50 lakhNot published
Maximum tenureUp to 15 years (Saraswati)Up to 15 years after course period + 12-month repayment holidayRepayment generally 5 to 15 years after course (FAQ)
Processing feeNot publishedStudent Loan: nil up to Rs 10 lakh; Rs 5,000 + GST for Rs 10-20 lakhNil
Prepayment / foreclosureNil (Saraswati)Not publishedNot stated
Eligibility (as published)Resident Indian with admission to recognized Indian higher education course after 10+2 via entrance/meritIndian national with admission to eligible course in India/abroad; parent/guardian co-borrowerNot published
Other terms published
  • Margin nil up to Rs 4 lakh; 5% above
  • No tangible security up to Rs 7.50 lakh; parent/guardian joint borrower
  • Moratorium: course period + 1 year
  • Covers fees, hostel, books, equipment, computer
  • Up to Rs 7.5 lakh needs only parent/guardian co-borrower; above that collateral
  • Margin nil up to Rs 4 lakh; 5% (India) / 15% (abroad) above
  • 0.50% rate concession for girl students on Student Loan
  • Interest during course and moratorium added to principal
  • Nil processing charges
  • Nil hidden charges
  • Flexible repayment tenure
  • Covers India and abroad study
Official sourcepnb.bank.in/pnbsaraswatiloan.html
pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx
sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/education-loan-scheme
sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/education-loans/student-loan-scheme
sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/education-loans/scholar-loan-scheme
unionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/educational-loan-for-india
unionbankofindia.bank.in/pdf/retail_roi.pdf

Read the full guide: Education loan

Punjab National Bank vs SBI vs Union Bank of India vehicle loans

For a car loan, Punjab National Bank and Union Bank of India start lowest (7.60%) versus 8.40% at SBI. For a two-wheeler loan, Punjab National Bank starts lowest (10%) versus 11.70% at SBI and 11.10% at Union Bank of India.

DetailPunjab National BankSBIUnion Bank of India
Car loan: published rateFrom 7.60%8.40% - 9.35%7.60% - 10.00%
Car loan: maximum tenure84 months7 yearsNot published
Car loan: processing fee0.25% of loan (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 1,500); nil documentationRs 1,000-3,000 + GST (salaried) / Rs 1,500-4,000 + GST (non-salaried), slab by loan amountFlat ₹1,000
Two-wheeler loan: published rateFrom 10.00%11.70% - 15.70%11.10% - 11.20%
Two-wheeler loan: maximum tenure60 EMIs (scooters/motorcycles)Up to 60 monthsNot published
Two-wheeler loan: processing fee0.50% of loan (min Rs 500, max Rs 1,000)3% of loan + GST (50% waiver for salary package customers)Flat ₹500

Full vehicle loan comparison for Punjab National Bank vs SBI vs Union Bank of India (all vehicle types, EMI tables and sources) · Vehicle loans guide

Which is better: Punjab National Bank, SBI or Union Bank of India?

No loan provider is best for everyone. This is how the published figures split, product by product.

  • Home loan, lower starting rate: SBI (7.25%) versus 8.15% at Punjab National Bank and 8.60% at Union Bank of India.
  • Car loan, lower starting rate: Punjab National Bank and Union Bank of India (7.60%) versus 8.40% at SBI.
  • Two-wheeler loan, lower starting rate: Punjab National Bank (10%) versus 11.70% at SBI and 11.10% at Union Bank of India.
  • Personal loan, longer maximum tenure: SBI (84 months). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
  • Gold loan, longer maximum tenure: SBI (emi 36 months; bullet 12 months; overdraft 36 months). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.

Pick on total cost, not the headline rate: ask each loan provider for the Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount. A low rate with a high processing fee can cost more than a slightly higher rate with no fee. If you already bank with one of them, a salary or relationship account can change the rate you are offered, so ask.

Bank type and how each loan provider sets its rate

Punjab National Bank, SBI and Union Bank of India are public sector banks.

How the loan providers' own pages say their rates are set:

  • SBI personal loan: 2-year MCLR (8.75%) + spread 1.25% to 6.25%.
  • SBI home loan: Floating, linked to Repo Rate via EBLR; interest on daily reducing balance.
  • Union Bank of India personal loan: EBLR (repo-linked).
  • Union Bank of India home loan: EBLR (repo-linked); fixed option max 5 years at 11.40% to 12.65%.

Public sector banks, private banks and non-banking finance companies (NBFCs) price differently. Banks usually link floating rates to the RBI repo rate or their own benchmark and add a spread based on your credit score; NBFCs more often quote a wider range with a higher ceiling and charge higher processing fees. Some publish a range, some only a starting rate and some only a ceiling, which is why this page compares like with like and marks every gap as not published instead of guessing.

About Punjab National Bank, SBI and Union Bank of India

Punjab National Bank

Public sector bank

We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on Punjab National Bank's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.

Lowest published starting rate on this page: 7.85% (Education loan)

SBI

Public sector bank · State Bank of India

We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on SBI's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.

Lowest published starting rate on this page: 7.25% (Home loan)

Union Bank of India

Public sector bank

We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on Union Bank of India's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.

Lowest published starting rate on this page: 8.60% (Home loan)

Explore each loan provider: loans, calculators and more comparisons

Guides: Personal loans · Home loans · Car loan · Car loan EMI calculator · EMI calculators

What to check before you choose a loan provider

  1. Ask for the Key Fact Statement (KFS). RBI requires loan providers to give you one before you sign, showing the interest rate, all fees, the APR and the total amount you will repay.
  2. Compare APR, not the headline rate. Processing fee, documentation charges and insurance change the real cost.
  3. Check the rate basis. A floating rate moves with the loan provider's benchmark; a fixed rate does not. Ask when the rate resets.
  4. Ask about prepayment and foreclosure. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
  5. Read the eligibility and documents. Income, credit score, employment type and collateral decide the rate band you land in.

Terms used on this page

Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.

Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.

APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.

Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.

Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.

Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.

Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.

Sources, method and last check

Every figure above comes from the loan provider's own website. We checked them on 12 October 2026 (vehicle loan figures on 4 October 2026) and list the pages used.

Verification log: what we checked for each loan provider
Loan providerOfficial pages openedLoan types with a published rateLoan types where rate is not publishedLast checked
Punjab National Bank125312 October 2026
SBI176212 October 2026
Union Bank of India103512 October 2026

A "not published" count means we opened the loan provider's page for that product and the rate was not shown there, or the loan provider has no such page on its site. If you spot an error, tell us and we will correct it.

Method: we list only figures we could read on the loan provider's official pages. A blank means the loan provider does not publish that figure on the page we checked, and we never estimate one. Rankings use the published starting rate and published maximum tenure only. Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.

More loan provider comparisons

Punjab National Bank compared with other loan providers (16)
SBI compared with other loan providers (16)
Union Bank of India compared with other loan providers (13)
Head-to-head pages for these three loan providers (3)
Swap one loan provider (6)

Compare any two or three loan providers · Personal loans · Home loans · Vehicle loans

Frequently asked questions

Which is better: Punjab National Bank, SBI or Union Bank of India?

For a home loan, SBI starts lowest (7.25%) versus 8.15% at Punjab National Bank and 8.60% at Union Bank of India. For a car loan, Punjab National Bank and Union Bank of India start lowest (7.60%) versus 8.40% at SBI. The page also compares two-wheeler loans. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 12 October 2026. The better choice depends on your profile, the loan type, the amount and the fees in your offer letter.

Union Bank of India, SBI or Punjab National Bank: which should I pick for a loan?

Order does not change the comparison, so Punjab National Bank vs SBI vs Union Bank of India and Union Bank of India vs SBI vs Punjab National Bank are the same page. Start with the loan type you need: the sections above show each loan provider's published rate, fees, tenure and prepayment terms for it, and the lower starting rate is not always the lower total cost.

Which has the lower personal loan interest rate: Punjab National Bank, SBI or Union Bank of India?

SBI has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Punjab National Bank 11.25% and SBI 10% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the loan provider's approval.

What is the personal loan processing fee at Punjab National Bank, SBI and Union Bank of India?

Punjab National Bank: not published. SBI: Up to 1.50% of loan amount (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 15,000) + GST; waivers for some customers. Union Bank of India: not published. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.

Which has the lower home loan interest rate: Punjab National Bank, SBI or Union Bank of India?

SBI has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Punjab National Bank 8.15%, SBI 7.25% and Union Bank of India 8.60% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the loan provider's approval.

What is the home loan processing fee at Punjab National Bank, SBI and Union Bank of India?

Punjab National Bank: not published. SBI: 0.35% of loan amount + GST, min Rs 2,000 max Rs 10,000 (FAQ page). Union Bank of India: not published. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.

What is the maximum home loan tenure at Punjab National Bank, SBI and Union Bank of India?

Punjab National Bank: 30 years incl. moratorium (construction/purchase/land). SBI: up to 30 years; repayment to be completed by age 70. Union Bank of India: not published.

How much personal loan can I get from Punjab National Bank, SBI and Union Bank of India?

Punjab National Bank: Salaried up to 24x gross monthly salary capped Rs 20 lakh. SBI: Rs 1 lakh to Rs 50 lakh (subject to EMI/NMI up to 65% and 30 times NMI, whichever is lower). Union Bank of India: not published. The loan provider decides the final amount from your income, credit score and existing obligations.

What is the EMI on a ₹5 lakh personal loan at Punjab National Bank, SBI and Union Bank of India?

Over 5 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate: Punjab National Bank about ₹10,934 a month at 11.25%; SBI about ₹10,624 a month at 10%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.

What is the EMI on a ₹50 lakh home loan at Punjab National Bank, SBI and Union Bank of India?

Over 20 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate: Punjab National Bank about ₹42,290 a month at 8.15%; SBI about ₹39,519 a month at 7.25%; Union Bank of India about ₹43,708 a month at 8.60%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.

Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Punjab National Bank, SBI and Union Bank of India?

Punjab National Bank: not published. SBI: Prepayment allowed without penalty. Union Bank of India: None; no prepayment penalty on Union Home Loan. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.

Which loans do Punjab National Bank, SBI and Union Bank of India publish rates for?

Punjab National Bank: personal loan, home loan, education loan. SBI: personal loan, home loan, gold loan, education loan. Union Bank of India: home loan. Based on each loan provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026.

Which is better for a car loan: Punjab National Bank, SBI or Union Bank of India?

For a car loan, Punjab National Bank and Union Bank of India start lowest (7.60%) versus 8.40% at SBI. See the full vehicle loan comparison for tenure, fees and EMI tables.

Are Punjab National Bank, SBI and Union Bank of India regulated by the RBI?

Punjab National Bank, SBI and Union Bank of India are banks regulated by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI). Check a loan provider's registration on the RBI website before you apply, and apply only through its official channels.

How do I compare Punjab National Bank, SBI and Union Bank of India on real cost, not just the rate?

Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement, then compare three numbers: the APR, the total amount you repay and the fees charged upfront, such as processing fee, documentation charge and insurance. The loan with the lower APR and the lower total repayment is the cheaper one, even when its headline rate looks higher.

Does my credit score change the rate at Punjab National Bank, SBI and Union Bank of India?

Yes. Loan providers keep their lowest published rate for borrowers with a strong credit score, usually 750 and above, and steady income. A lower score or a short work history usually means a higher rate, a higher processing fee or a smaller loan amount.

Are the rates on this page the rate I will get?

No. They are the rates the loan providers publish, usually a range or a starting rate. Your approved rate depends on your credit score, income, loan amount, tenure and, for secured loans, the asset. Always read the Key Fact Statement before you sign.

Does KhatuLoans lend money or charge for this comparison?

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider. The loan provider decides approval, rate and terms. Our comparisons are free to read, and we are not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. See how we make money on our advertiser disclosure page.

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.